EM TuningAH Fabrications
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    KEF A3 20V T's Avatar
    Turbo's Rule

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Whitby
    Posts
    198

    connecting to corrado G60

    I was asked by a mate to try to identify an ABS fault on his 92 G60, i understand that vagcom will only communicate with the ABS module using a 2x2 port. i tested the interface and it came up as ok, then when i went to commect to the ABS module, it came up with an error saying "to many errors to communicate". is there somthing i need to change ie Baud rate, to let vag com communicate?

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    Uwe@Ross-Tech's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    130
    What version of VAG-COM?
    What kind of interface?
    What kind of PC?

    -Uwe-

  4. #3
    KEF A3 20V T's Avatar
    Turbo's Rule

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Whitby
    Posts
    198
    311.

    3rd party usb interface

    Toshiba satilite pro 4600

  5. #4
    Uwe@Ross-Tech's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    130
    Your chances of getting that to work with a 3rd-party USB interface are not good.

    http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/faq_3.html#3.3

    "Almost all 3rd party drivers emulate a Serial port. This is intrinsically slower than directly accessing the interface via USB. It may also cause difficulties connecting or unreliable sessions with some control modules."

    Those old ABS modules are among the fussiest when it comes to timing.

    -Uwe-

  6. #5
    KEF A3 20V T's Avatar
    Turbo's Rule

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Whitby
    Posts
    198
    ok mate, so its a no go'er then. when i adjusted the baud rate the error stopped coming up saying to many errors to communicate, but it just took 4 trys at connection then gave up!

    wuld you say a true serial interface would be better than a 3rd party interface? i am planning to use the laptop for a tuning program in the future and i think i wil have to use a true serial cable for that. would i stand more chance with that?

    cheers for yor help

  7. #6
    Uwe@Ross-Tech's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    130
    Yes, I would say you have a better chance with a serial one. But no guarantees with any 3rd party interface.

    -Uwe-

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO