Sky InsuranceJMB Retrofits
Results 1 to 35 of 35
  1. #1
    Rev-head's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Perthshire
    Posts
    2,955

    Having problem getting USB cable to work with VAG.com

    Starting vag.com, need to locate port but can not seem to as USB cable is not find hardware for it

    What i have done :

    Wizard pops up go through the stages of putting up VAG.COM file up and search and it says it does not find any hardware

    Any ideas?
    Urq RR
    S2 Coupe...RS2 +
    S2 Avant (slipper wagon spec)
    A4 AVANT TDI

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    Sinny71's Avatar
    S55 LKS

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North East
    Posts
    777
    Wheredid you get the USB cable from?? I bought mine from ebay and needed to install it using a driver from the buyer. Once I'd done that it was fine but it had me stumped for a while first.
    2004 1.9TDi A4 Avant Sport, GmbH bodykit, DPM Remap, Fishscale Alu trim, RNS-E


  4. #3
    phil1978's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Home of the white stilleto
    Posts
    183
    Look on Ross-Tech website, they tell you how to set up a USB cable.

    Good Luck.
    07 A4 Cab 2.0T FSI S-Line
    06 Suzuki GSXR750 K6

    Gone But Not Forgotten:
    04 A4 Tdi Quattro Sport
    03 Golf GTI T

    If in doubt go flat out

  5. #4
    Rev-head's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Perthshire
    Posts
    2,955
    went on to Ross tech and did as they said but no joy!!

    Got cable of ebay but seller did not mention driver
    Urq RR
    S2 Coupe...RS2 +
    S2 Avant (slipper wagon spec)
    A4 AVANT TDI

  6. #5
    Sinny71's Avatar
    S55 LKS

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North East
    Posts
    777
    The cable I got would not work with the Ross-tech drivers so I think thats where the problem lies mate. Once I actually read the listing for mine and sorted the drivers as they said mine worked fine.
    Try having a look at the listing if you got it recently or if not, give me a shout and I'll try finding mine.
    2004 1.9TDi A4 Avant Sport, GmbH bodykit, DPM Remap, Fishscale Alu trim, RNS-E


  7. #6
    Sinny71's Avatar
    S55 LKS

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North East
    Posts
    777
    Found the link. This is the guy I got my cable off and this is his manual/driver page.

    http://stores.ebay.com/alpha-bid/Man...Downloads.html
    2004 1.9TDi A4 Avant Sport, GmbH bodykit, DPM Remap, Fishscale Alu trim, RNS-E


  8. #7
    Rev-head's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Perthshire
    Posts
    2,955
    snap same one as mine....what did you load on to pc to get it to work?
    Urq RR
    S2 Coupe...RS2 +
    S2 Avant (slipper wagon spec)
    A4 AVANT TDI

  9. #8
    rodenal's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,982
    Are you selecting the right com port within vag-com to allow it to use the cable(on my pc sometimes the cable defaults to com 8 or something that vag-com cant see)?

    Or are you not getting as far as that even?
    *Gone* 1997 A3 1.6 facelift headlights, 16"1.8t Alloys, full rear tints. 110k

    You built a time machine.........out of a delorean!?!?!

  10. #9
    Sinny71's Avatar
    S55 LKS

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North East
    Posts
    777
    Check out the driver installation section on here..

    http://images.marketworks.com/hi/69/...tructions3.pdf
    2004 1.9TDi A4 Avant Sport, GmbH bodykit, DPM Remap, Fishscale Alu trim, RNS-E


  11. #10
    Rev-head's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Perthshire
    Posts
    2,955
    getting as far as that think Sinny has nailed it just need driver link for cable
    Urq RR
    S2 Coupe...RS2 +
    S2 Avant (slipper wagon spec)
    A4 AVANT TDI

  12. #11
    rodenal's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,982
    Yeah if you havent the right drivers then install them, if you still cant access the cable from coms 1-4 then go into device manager and find the cable, force it to use one of these
    *Gone* 1997 A3 1.6 facelift headlights, 16"1.8t Alloys, full rear tints. 110k

    You built a time machine.........out of a delorean!?!?!

  13. #12
    Sinny71's Avatar
    S55 LKS

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North East
    Posts
    777
    Quote Originally Posted by rodenal
    Yeah if you havent the right drivers then install them, if you still cant access the cable from coms 1-4 then go into device manager and find the cable, force it to use one of these
    That kinds of rings a bell too. I think I needed to change the Com port on mine but I think that was down to me messing about before installing the correct driver.
    2004 1.9TDi A4 Avant Sport, GmbH bodykit, DPM Remap, Fishscale Alu trim, RNS-E


  14. #13
    timps's Avatar
    Shakersville

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Shakersville (Bury)
    Posts
    235
    I helped someone with a similar problem on this post http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/showthread.php?t=27483 the drivers listed in that link worked on both our alpha bid cables.

    Use the VCP Drivers for your operating system.

  15. #14
    Rev-head's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Perthshire
    Posts
    2,955
    GETTING PISSED OFF NOW...have loaded driver link for PDF file and tried to get USB cable to find hardware it is not picking up anything ahhhh!!!
    Urq RR
    S2 Coupe...RS2 +
    S2 Avant (slipper wagon spec)
    A4 AVANT TDI

  16. #15
    Sinny71's Avatar
    S55 LKS

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North East
    Posts
    777
    It needs to be set to a com port within Vag com as opposed to USB mate. Mine is set to com2 at the minute.

    Are you running the Install.exe file to install the drivers??
    Last edited by Sinny71; 16th February 2007 at 00:24.
    2004 1.9TDi A4 Avant Sport, GmbH bodykit, DPM Remap, Fishscale Alu trim, RNS-E


  17. #16
    Rev-head's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Perthshire
    Posts
    2,955
    what version of VAG.com are you using?
    Urq RR
    S2 Coupe...RS2 +
    S2 Avant (slipper wagon spec)
    A4 AVANT TDI

  18. #17
    Sinny71's Avatar
    S55 LKS

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North East
    Posts
    777
    I'm running 409-1 as I think the later versions will only work with a Ross-tech cable.
    2004 1.9TDi A4 Avant Sport, GmbH bodykit, DPM Remap, Fishscale Alu trim, RNS-E


  19. #18
    Rev-head's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Perthshire
    Posts
    2,955
    rught what i have done again:
    Gone through computer>manage>device manager>ports
    The USB Cable is register through (com8) have changed to com1 but still not working
    Urq RR
    S2 Coupe...RS2 +
    S2 Avant (slipper wagon spec)
    A4 AVANT TDI

  20. #19
    Sinny71's Avatar
    S55 LKS

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North East
    Posts
    777
    Have you ran a test on Com1 within VAG-com??
    Need to ensure its not used by a modem or anything. I went on for ages as it was saying it had found an adapter. Turned out it was my modem.
    2004 1.9TDi A4 Avant Sport, GmbH bodykit, DPM Remap, Fishscale Alu trim, RNS-E


  21. #20
    Rev-head's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Perthshire
    Posts
    2,955
    Have run test with vag.com on all coms and no interface..have checked all the rest

    have checked the driver in the port and it is the one i have downloaded so it is the right one
    Urq RR
    S2 Coupe...RS2 +
    S2 Avant (slipper wagon spec)
    A4 AVANT TDI

  22. #21
    Sinny71's Avatar
    S55 LKS

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North East
    Posts
    777
    Just plugged in my cable to have a go. And low and behold it said port ok, interface not found.

    Not suggesting you do it now mate but it seems it only finds it when connected to the car. I used mine to recode the RNS-E 2 days ago so I know all is ok with it.
    2004 1.9TDi A4 Avant Sport, GmbH bodykit, DPM Remap, Fishscale Alu trim, RNS-E


  23. #22
    Rev-head's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Perthshire
    Posts
    2,955
    Will check tomorow morning my head is buzzing now just about threw laptop out of the F"ing window
    Urq RR
    S2 Coupe...RS2 +
    S2 Avant (slipper wagon spec)
    A4 AVANT TDI

  24. #23
    Sinny71's Avatar
    S55 LKS

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North East
    Posts
    777
    Haha, never a good time to 'test' anything. It sounds like you've made all the chnges needed and nsalled the correct drivers though so fingers crossed it should be plain sailing tomorrow.
    2004 1.9TDi A4 Avant Sport, GmbH bodykit, DPM Remap, Fishscale Alu trim, RNS-E


  25. #24
    Rev-head's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Perthshire
    Posts
    2,955
    Cheers for the help
    Urq RR
    S2 Coupe...RS2 +
    S2 Avant (slipper wagon spec)
    A4 AVANT TDI

  26. #25
    Rev-head's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Perthshire
    Posts
    2,955
    Thats it up and running now just going through the scan process now
    Urq RR
    S2 Coupe...RS2 +
    S2 Avant (slipper wagon spec)
    A4 AVANT TDI

  27. #26
    Sinny71's Avatar
    S55 LKS

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North East
    Posts
    777
    Glad you got it sorted mate.
    2004 1.9TDi A4 Avant Sport, GmbH bodykit, DPM Remap, Fishscale Alu trim, RNS-E


  28. #27
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    74
    I just wanted to add a bit to this thread, and say thanks to all who contributed.

    Just got my Vag com cable working tonight having been through all the problems above.

    The following might help to save future members a bit of time:

    1. Com port 2 seemed to be the only one that worked for me despite others being free.
    2. Check what com port your internal modem is on - vag com will talk to it, and that'll throw you right off the scent
    3. When setting up the com port, go into device manager, then in the console tree click on COM&LPT. (The cable will also be listed under USBs at the bottom of the tree, but you can't change the com port in this section).
    4. My laptop wouldn't even recognise the cable until I hooked it up to the car - this is contrary to the instructions from Ross-tech.

    Now I just need to decifer the codes...it's most unusual being able to diagnose faults without having to get covered in old oil!

    All the best,


    Beef

  29. #28
    Jampublic's Avatar
    Taking it easy..

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Reading, SE
    Posts
    972
    I have just been though this jigsaw puzzle too! oh dam

    Should have found this section sooner!
    J


  30. #29
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    S tAlbans
    Posts
    70

    Question the software wont work needs activation code

    went onto the ross tech site to down load the 'old software' but \I only want to reset the service to zero but it asks for an activation code. have I got the wrong software or am I doing something wrong. I'm pretty sure I got the free software. Please help as I went through the same problem as the thread in getting the driver installed and the com port business....

    Thanks for any advice in advance .

  31. #30
    shineydave's Avatar
    5th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Bradford, Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    912
    lol, the posts above just reinforce my belief that the only good cable is a genuine Ross-Tech one. yup they're more expensive but you don't have any codes to decypher, they work straight out of the box and you get the latest software as well as funding the research and developement of new functions.

    still it's nice that Uwe, Sebastian etc keep popping in to offer advice and support even on the products that they don't sell. you never see an Ebay seller signing in to offer advice on their kit.

    support the guys who'll support you, that's what i say
    Dave

    "If that's the Turbo Fairy knocking tell Her I'm not in"

  32. #31
    Uwe@Ross-Tech's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    130
    Quote Originally Posted by chiyuenli
    went onto the ross tech site to down load the 'old software' but \I only want to reset the service to zero but it asks for an activation code. have I got the wrong software or am I doing something wrong..
    Sorry, but resetting the service reminder requires saving a new value to an adaptation channel and the free version won't do that. The chart on this page has an outline showing what the free version can and can't do. Click in the links in the chart to see details. To remove the limitations, you'll need to register.

    -Uwe-

  33. #32
    shineydave's Avatar
    5th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Bradford, Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    912
    i rest my case, lol
    Dave

    "If that's the Turbo Fairy knocking tell Her I'm not in"

  34. #33
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    S tAlbans
    Posts
    70
    I agree shineydave. I was selling my S3 in belief that I wasn't getting another Audi but now have ordered a Sportback so will invest in a proper unit.

  35. #34
    Numptie of the highest order

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Crowthorne, England
    Posts
    2,512
    Thanks to this thread I've just got the cable that I bought off ebay to work (had been given com port 17 to the cable and was finding my modem on com 4), looks like I'm off to the ross-tech website to register the software and try some data logging.

  36. #35
    Rev-head's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Perthshire
    Posts
    2,955
    All that pain was worth it then
    Urq RR
    S2 Coupe...RS2 +
    S2 Avant (slipper wagon spec)
    A4 AVANT TDI

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO