Monster MotorsportAH Fabrications
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Ram
    Ram's Avatar
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    83

    Logging turbo boost with VAG-COM

    You can graph boost pressure as follows:

    Go to Engine Measuring Block 011
    Start Logging the data
    In a high gear (4th/5th) give full throttle from 1500-2000 rpm to 3500-4000 rpm
    Find and Open the Log file in Windows Explorer
    In Excel graph actual/requested boost -vs- rpm
    On a stock vehicle, one should see a spike at 2.1 bar quickly regulated at 1.9 through the whole rpm range



    You only need a basic laptop which is cabable of running Windows '95 comfortably and which is equipped with a serial port 9-pin (d-type).

    There are 5 packages available to suit all budgets, all of which include the full version of the Ross-Tech VAG-COM software.


    Package 1
    Standard OBD2 Cable with VAG-COM software
    For use with all vehicles featuring the DLC connector except 2002 onward model year A4 & A8


    Package 2 Pro-2 OBD2 Cable with VAG-COM software
    Features LED to indicate connection status.

    For use with all vehicles featuring the DLC connector except 2002 onward model year A4 & A8


    Package 3
    K1-K2 (Twin Com) OBD2 Cable with VAG-COM software

    Features twin LEDs to indicate connection status (line one & line two)
    For use with all vehicles featuring the DLC connector including 2002 onward model year A4 & A8


    Package 4
    Pro-2 OBD2 Cable and VAS 5051/2 adapter with VAG-COM software

    For use with all vehicles including earlier models featuring the 2x2 connector, but excluding 2002 onward model year A4 & A8


    Package 5
    K1-K2 (Twin-com) OBD2 Cable and VAS 5051/2 adapter with VAG-COM software

    For use with all vehicles including earlier models featuring the 2x2 connector

    All cables are German manufactured and come with a 2-year manufacturers warranty.

    Please see the VAG-COM products page for pricing details.

    Best wishes,

    Ram

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    South West
    Posts
    52

    Re: Logging turbo boost with VAG-COM

    RAM,

    tried this last night. Don't think you mean block 011, more like 115 I think.

    sadly the shareware version doesn't go this high [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]

  4. #3
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    South West
    Posts
    52

    Re: Logging turbo boost with VAG-COM

    Good choice mate,

    I've only got the shareware, but it is awesome!!

    -Dan

  5. #4
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Posts
    153

    Re: Logging turbo boost with VAG-COM

    I am very interested in buy VAG-COM but for the fact That I cannot determine the true boost pressure for my AMD chipped S4. It is exactly this that I wanted the VAG COM for rather than having to fit a boost gauge in my dash somewhere.

    Looking at the Uk web site I see the price goes up 20 for the basic lead with an LED. Can someone explain why it is worth spending an extra 20 for an LED!

  6. #5
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Posts
    153

    Re: Logging turbo boost with VAG-COM

    Thanks Ram,

    My car is at home so I can't chcek how many pins are in my DLC. Can you or anyone else confirm that package one (i.e. 139) will work on my 1997/98 S4 Avant?

    AMD have still to get back to me on the boost pressure query. The lad I spoke to didn't know and it was lunch time.

  7. #6
    Ram
    Ram's Avatar
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    83

    Re: Logging turbo boost with VAG-COM

    Hi Patrick,

    Package 1 is fine for use with your vehicle.

    If you plan to buy a new 2002MY S4, you'll need package 3!

    Best wishes,

    Ram

  8. #7
    Administrators's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Posts
    1,000,001,884

    My Social Networking

    Follow Administrators On Twitter

    Re: Logging turbo boost with VAG-COM

    Nilesh, can you sort me out an activation code?
    lost my vag.com installation when my laptop HD went kaput a while back, you should have the license key....
    Also managed to lose my lead, pm me!

  9. #8
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Posts
    153

    Re: Logging turbo boost with VAG-COM

    I spoke to Jim at Star performance who carry out AMD chip work in Scotland about measuring the boost pressure. He said, the VAG tool and VAG-COM can measure the true boost pressure but only if your running the car, or in his case, on a rolling road. Which is exactly what he did with my AMD chipped S4 some months back. So if the dealer was to use the small hand held VAG tool rather than the full PC on a trolley bit of kit they have in the workshop and take the car out for a road test they would see the higher than stock boost pressures

    Alex at AMD has still to reply to my email. He's given it to his workshop foreman to answer.

    Looks like I'll be buying a VAG-COM rather than APR's new version of the centre dash vent boost gauge.

  10. #9
    Ram
    Ram's Avatar
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    83

    Re: Logging turbo boost with VAG-COM

    Hi John,

    Install a new copy on your PC and send the activation code to me and I'll sort you out.

    Many thanks,

    Ram

  11. #10
    Westy's Avatar
    Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire sometimes Hertfordshire
    Posts
    17,158
    Sorry to bring this back up but what are people typically getting on their standard S3. Mine seems to hit 1.8 bar and hold fairly successfully, no real peaking. I checked this earlier because my car doesn't feel particularly fast and I thought maybe I have a boost leak but I may have just got used to it.... time for a remap!
    8P A3 TDI - 220bhp - 335lbft
    A3 Maintenance Thread
    Bye bye S3 you will be missed.
    S3 Build Thread







 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO