Monster MotorsportSky Insurance
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: wont connect

  1. #1
    Mountain biker

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Fryeburg, Maine, USA
    Posts
    2

    Exclamation wont connect

    I just got 311.2n and cant get it to connect to my car. It seems to want to use com port 3, and says its connected but when I go to "auto-scan" it tells me it's not connected. I think it may be connecting to my onboard modem, But how do I change this? I cant even activate it till it connects to the car. I got my cable on Ebay.

    Any other Ideas?


    Thanks COoper
    97 A4-
    96 golf-
    89 fox-
    88 Fox-
    85 quantum TD-
    84 jetta-

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    dummi's Avatar
    smoking a6

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    brumingham
    Posts
    1,188
    i had that problem with an aftermarket stereo with k-lines , the harness adapter was for pre-'97 but i needed post-'97 which takes into account these lines on '97 and later models. unless yours is a canbus like on 2003 a3's then you need the canbus cable check ross-tech.com
    just a little a6

  4. #3
    bearthebruce's Avatar
    Ross-Tech, LLC

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Ambler, PA
    Posts
    331
    There are postings about this on many forums. Basically, the aftermarket cables have problems communicating unless you get into the setup of the computer to deal with the COM ports. Sorry but that is as far as I go on this.

    Might I suggest you go back to the guy who sold the cable and see if they will give you some support?

    -Bruce-
    Ross-Tech,LLC
    bruce@Ross-Tech.com

  5. #4
    bearthebruce's Avatar
    Ross-Tech, LLC

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Ambler, PA
    Posts
    331
    Quote Originally Posted by bearthebruce
    There are postings about this on many forums. Basically, the aftermarket cables have problems communicating unless you get into the setup of the computer to deal with the COM ports. Sorry but that is as far as I go on this.

    Might I suggest you go back to the guy who sold the cable and see if they will give you some support?

    -Bruce-
    Ross-Tech,LLC
    bruce@Ross-Tech.com
    PS: In fact, this is discussed in another thread right here. Please search and read that thread.

    B

  6. #5
    Mountain biker

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Fryeburg, Maine, USA
    Posts
    2
    I did surch, but didn't find anything like my problem. Many that were kind of like it, but nothing with my issues.

    I did get it to connect to the car. Thanks for the help

    Cooper
    97 A4-
    96 golf-
    89 fox-
    88 Fox-
    85 quantum TD-
    84 jetta-

  7. #6
    bearthebruce's Avatar
    Ross-Tech, LLC

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Ambler, PA
    Posts
    331
    You are saying that this thread has nothing in it that is similar to help?
    VAG-COM can't connect to car

    I mean this text doesn't address your problem with COM port 3?

    Quote Originally Posted by thadeak
    Hi icenutter,

    thanks for the reply.

    I tried changing the port number in the device manager, the only free port was COM1. However within the VAG-COM software when i test the connection, only port 3 works no matter what. well when i say works, it says it has found the lead.
    So even when i tell the lead to be on com1 in the device manager it is still showing up on port 3 in VAG-COM.

    very strange.

    Deak
    Well, as I said, contact your supplier for some help. If they can't help and these threads do not help, I'm not sure where to send you.

    Best,
    -Bruce-
    Ross-Tech, LLC
    Bruce@Ross-Tech.com

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO