Sky InsuranceVolks Autos
Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    9

    Throttle body error

    Hi guys,

    I got my cable working so i thought i would check for error codes.

    While checking the engine (01) i got the following fault:

    --------------------------------------------------------
    VAG-COM Version: Release 311.2-N

    Control Module Part Number: 8D0 907 558 A
    Component and/or Version: 1,6L R4/2V MOTR HS D04
    Software Coding: 04001
    Work Shop Code: WSC 06335
    1 Fault Found:
    00670 - Throttle Position Sensor (G127)
    27-10 - Implausible Signal - Intermittent
    --------------------------------------------------------

    I cleared the fault but it came back again.

    Anyone got any ideas?

    I have a 1.6L A4 SE 1997 (P reg)

    Thanks for taking the time to look.

    Deak

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    bearthebruce's Avatar
    Ross-Tech, LLC

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Ambler, PA
    Posts
    326
    Did you do a Throttle Body Alignment? If not, try this:
    TBA

    -Bruce-
    Ross-Tech, LLC
    bruce@Ross-Tech.com

  4. #3
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    9
    hey bruce,

    thanks for the advice and link.

    I tried following the instructions but i got an error.

    Here are the screen shots:





    any ideas?

    cheers guys

  5. #4
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    385
    its not much help but i got exactly the same thing when i tried TBA using vagcom and for my troubles i got an extra error on top of the one i already had:
    17973 - Throttle Actuator (J338): Lower Stop not Reached
    ..been advised in another thread to clean the throttle body but not had the time as of yet.

    though i did manage to get rid of the above error by disconnecting the battery for a good 15 minutes, reconnect it, turn the key so theres power but doesnt start the engine, leave it for about a minute then turn the key all the way (without taking the key out or anything) so the engine starts and let it idle for another minute.

    i would like to know why my vagcom also errors out with "group98 not available" --i have a AGU engine which is NDBW so group 98 should be the correct one to change (as per instructions, engine was not on but electrics were).

  6. #5
    dummi's Avatar
    smoking a6

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    brumingham
    Posts
    1,188
    Quote Originally Posted by skanky
    which is NDBW so group 98 should be the correct one to change
    NDBW has a throttle cable to control throttle position. there is a throttle position sensor but that relays information back to the computer where your throttle position is. it is not computer controlled by throttle position at the accelerator pedal. your problem is probably mechanical. or maybe TPS related.
    just a little a6

  7. #6
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    9
    hey dummi,

    what's NDBW and how do i know if my car is NDBW ?

    Thanks for the info.

    Deak

  8. #7
    bearthebruce's Avatar
    Ross-Tech, LLC

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Ambler, PA
    Posts
    326
    Quote Originally Posted by thadeak
    hey bruce,

    thanks for the advice and link.

    I tried following the instructions but i got an error.

    Here are the screen shots:

    any ideas?

    cheers guys
    What version of VAG-COM are you running? 311.2 as Shareware? Not supported. You need to buy a license to do a TBA.

    DBW stands for Drive By Wire. Newer VW/Audis do not have a cable connecting the throttle to the accelerator pedal. They are electronically controlled and positioned.

    -Bruce-
    Ross-Tech, LLC
    Bruce@Ross-Tech.com

  9. #8
    bearthebruce's Avatar
    Ross-Tech, LLC

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Ambler, PA
    Posts
    326
    Oh and I forgot, how do know which cars? Read the TBA page link I sent you. It addresses which cars are DBW.

    -Bruce-
    Ross-Tech, LLC
    Bruce@Ross-Tech.com

  10. #9
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    9
    Thanks for info bruce.

    Ok i found out i do have a DBW Car using KWP-1281.

    But still no go, however i have cleared the error code and i think it has stayed away.

    I will check it again tomorrow.

    Deak

  11. #10
    bearthebruce's Avatar
    Ross-Tech, LLC

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Ambler, PA
    Posts
    326
    Quote Originally Posted by thadeak
    Thanks for info bruce.

    Ok i found out i do have a DBW Car using KWP-1281.

    But still no go, however i have cleared the error code and i think it has stayed away.

    I will check it again tomorrow.

    Deak
    Deak, what version of VAG-COM are you running? Are you running in shareware? If so, TBA alignment is not supported. You have to have the full program and a full license. You can buy the license in our store.

    -Bruce-
    Ross-Tech,LLC

  12. #11
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    9
    hey bruce,

    Thanks for the info.

    i am running 312 shareware, but i tried it with my friends registered version and it is the same.

    I am concerned that if i spend out $99 on the full version i am going to get the same problem as is being shown with my shareware and my friends registard version.

    Is it that my car just cannot be adjusted electronically?

    Thanks again.

    Deak

  13. #12
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Magdeburg, Germany
    Posts
    286
    The procedures that Bruced posted the link to are perfectly fine for your ADP engine, but you need to obey the prerequisites!

    There are certain test conditions that must be met before doing a TBA:
    * No DTC's in the Engine Controller
    * Battery voltage at least 11.5 V
    * Throttle must be at idling position (keep your foot off the gas pedal), Engine NOT running
    * Throttle body part must not be dirty (carbonized).
    * Coolant temperature must be between 5 and 95C
    In your case the Implausible Signal fault code is preventing the TBA, so fix that one, than do the TBA.
    Sebastian @ Ross-Tech.com

  14. #13
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    9
    Hi Sebastian,

    Thanks for the reply.

    In my original post i asked what i should do about the Implausible Signal fault and bruce recommended the TBA.
    But now you are saying that i should fix the fault before i do the TBA. but i thought by doing the TBA it would fix the fault.
    If i have to fix the fault first before doing the TBA what do i need to do to fix it please?
    I did follow all the prerequisites, but after reading back over them i notice the last one says the coolant needs to be between 5 and 95C, i guess this means i should idle the care prior to the TBA, then once the car is warmed up shut the engine off and try doign the TBA, correct?

    Thanks again for yours and everyones help.

    This software is totally amazing and without the help of all you guys here would be pretty difficult to work out.

    Thanks guys,

    Deak

  15. #14
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Magdeburg, Germany
    Posts
    286
    Quote Originally Posted by thadeak
    In my original post i asked what i should do about the Implausible Signal fault and bruce recommended the TBA.
    Yep, this was correct. The TBA is part of the solution for this fault code, I'm currently putting some more detailed data about this online, so you can base your fixes on that.

    http://wiki.ross-tech.com/index.php/00670

    Quote Originally Posted by thadeak
    i guess this means i should idle the care prior to the TBA, then once the car is warmed up shut the engine off and try doign the TBA, correct?
    Yep, that's suggested.

    Quote Originally Posted by thadeak
    This software is totally amazing and without the help of all you guys here would be pretty difficult to work out.
    It's like with every tool, you just need to learn how to handle it - usually in cases like this a repair manual is quite a good help though.
    Sebastian @ Ross-Tech.com

  16. #15
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    385
    Quote Originally Posted by dummi
    NDBW has a throttle cable to control throttle position. there is a throttle position sensor but that relays information back to the computer where your throttle position is. it is not computer controlled by throttle position at the accelerator pedal. your problem is probably mechanical. or maybe TPS related.
    Whats TPS?

  17. #16
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Magdeburg, Germany
    Posts
    286
    TPS = Throttle Position Sensor
    Sebastian @ Ross-Tech.com

  18. #17
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    7
    Hi,

    Did you resolve this problem. The only thing I notice is the before image shows the throttle to be part throttle. It should read idle if you do not press the throttle. This could mean dirt in the throttle body preventing it going back to fully closed or the throttle cable not adjusted properly.

    Regards

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO