Monster MotorsportEM Tuning
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: mileage change

  1. #1
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    cardiff
    Posts
    21

    mileage change

    can vagcom be used to change milage, so if installing new clocks to keep the milage history.

    cheers jason

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    Anito's Avatar
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Chester
    Posts
    429

    Re: mileage change

    never actually used vagcom but i'd be surprised if you could, otherwise it would be open to all kinds of missuse.

    I though if you were doing this type of stuff you had to notify DVLA so the change and mileage details are recorded propoerly.

    I'm no expert though..

  4. #3
    imported_Garry
    Guest

    Re: mileage change

    In a word no.

  5. #4
    marriedblonde's Avatar
    Moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sunny South Coast
    Posts
    4,368

    Re: mileage change

    It's documented somewhere that you can change the mileage but only advancing it. So for example if you where to fit a new set of clocks you could set the mileage to be the same.

    J.

  6. #5
    peteA3tdi's Avatar
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    the rose and crown
    Posts
    406

    Re: mileage change

    yes and no the link is for Without Immobilizer , with Immobilizer ii you need do do a bit more and with Immobilizer iii you need the SKC code that you can't get any more

    http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/car...-swapping.html

  7. #6
    imported_rustys3
    Guest

    Re: mileage change

    There a post somewhere on hear about this. The only way for it to be done is by the dealer.

    Cheers

    Rusty

  8. #7
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    2,488

    Re: mileage change

    milage can be changed only once per cluster. Once this has been set, it cannot be changed, and you must buy a new cluster if you want to change it again easily.

    If you wanted to amend them afterwards, I'd imagine it would involve some dismatling of the cluster then desoldering and reprogramming the IC's.

  9. #8
    boggysv's Avatar
    3rd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    572
    Sorry for having to bring this thread up, but is it illegal to have a purely KM dash while having my car in the uk? I cant seem to find any info on dvla and vosa's website.

    I'll be planning to export the vehicle within a year, and they dont use imperial mesurements there. It'd be great if I can get any confirmation quick and hope my dealer could ammend my order. (I just ordered a car last week). Dvla and vosa is a little slow on the reply side I'm afraid.

    Else, I'll have to get a new cluster when I'm leaving, and pay the foreign dealer to install it
    Last edited by boggysv; 24th November 2007 at 17:22.

  10. #9
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    2,538
    If you get the full DIS, it comes with a digital speedo which you can configure to show mph or km/h.

    I don't believe it is illegal to have only kilometers on the speedo, however you won't be able to use that as an excuse if you get pulled over by the police.

  11. #10
    boggysv's Avatar
    3rd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    572
    Quote Originally Posted by MarcQuinlivan
    If you get the full DIS, it comes with a digital speedo which you can configure to show mph or km/h.
    There's only one type of DIS available for the 8P S3 I'm afraid. Or am I wrong?

  12. #11
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    2,538
    Quote Originally Posted by boggysv
    There's only one type of DIS available for the 8P S3 I'm afraid. Or am I wrong?
    then you'll have the digital speedo on it.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO