Monster MotorsportVolks Autos
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1

    Start/Stop on the A3

    I have a new 2012 A3 2.0TDI-170 s-tronic that has the start/stop system. My wife has an A1 which also has the start/stop system but hers is a manual gearbox.

    The system works fine on her A1 but with the s-tonic on my A3, once the engine has stopped I have to keep my foot on the brake. If I take my foot off the brake the engine restarts. When I was taught to drive many years ago I was told it was bad manners to sit in a traffic queue with my foot on the brake as my brake lights would be bright in the face on the driver behind me. Hence in the past I have also put my car into neutral and applied the handbrake. I know I can stop the start/stop system from working by using the switch on the dash but this is reset whenever the ignition is turned off.

    Does anyone know it it is possible to permanently switch the system off using VCDS>
    Dave R (h5djr)
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    A3 8V 2.0 TDI-184 Sportback Sport s-tronic quattro - Silver + lots of options - my 9th A3

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    pns2007's Avatar
    3rd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    626
    My A1 (185ps) has S tronic and the start stop is permanently disabled, I think it has something to do with the fact that a supercharger is fitted. Therefore it's possible I believe. I'm sure there was a setting within VCD's when I looked last time which you needed to check (or not) regarding start stop.
    2013 A5 2.0 TDI (177) Black Edition

    [s]2012 A1 1.4TFSI (185ps) Black Edition[s]

    [s]MY2010 A4 1.8T (160) S-Line executive in brilliant Red[/s]

    [s]2008 A3 TDI S-Line Cabriolet 8P3[/s]


    A4 (B8) Door warning light and Glovebox retrofits. A1 Heated Mirrors Retrofit

  4. #3
    Spider's Avatar
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    50
    Yes there is a check box in vcds to switch it off
    Well there is on the A1 2.0 tdi

  5. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Spider View Post
    Yes there is a check box in vcds to switch it off
    Well there is on the A1 2.0 tdi
    Can you give me any more details. Which Control Module?
    Dave R (h5djr)
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    A3 8V 2.0 TDI-184 Sportback Sport s-tronic quattro - Silver + lots of options - my 9th A3

  6. #5
    Spider's Avatar
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    50
    Haven't tried it myself as I use the start stop quite a lot But give this a try
    This is for A1 should be same on A3

    [VCDS] Deactivate Start/Stop System
    •Turns off the Start/Stop System
    •Control unit "09-Central Electric">> "Encoding">> Byte 26
    •Values:
    •Bit 7[/quote]

  7. #6
    NHN
    NHN's Avatar
    Modmetractor

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Coding Something
    Posts
    26,716
    Yes as above, there is a box to disable the start/stop, just make sure it doenst have anyother effects on other systems.

    EG. someone I know had bigger wheels fitted & it affected his whole start/stop & brake recup system as his abs module was also part of the system & thus detected differences in the wheel turns & made the whole car systems go mental & turn of even whilst in use, hence when I got to work on it, I tried some different coding & found some systems disabled were a temp fix, but also gave issues, but some were corrected with coding changes, but all worked ok again with returning wheels to right size.

    So for all reading, always keep track of whats coded & not, so can be returned to previous state as newer cars are becoming so much more technological & what you maybe think wouldnt affect one system, certainly could do.

    OEM RETROFITS - CRUISE CONTROL - SAT NAV - BLUETOOTH - AMI - HEADLIGHT SYSTEMS

    PARKING SYSTEMS - DIAGNOSTICS - FAULT FINDING - BODYWORK - PAINTWORK

  8. #7
    Mine is a standard factory model and the coding of the 09-Central Electronics is:

    Address 09: Cent. Elect. (J519) Labels: 8P0-907-063.clb
    Part No SW: 8P0 907 063 N HW: 8P0 907 063 N
    Component: BCM PQ35 M 110 0667
    Revision: AJ110667
    Coding: 4E000A2FA005F0C0207041E02100095C427E2BAA216DD12AE4 008F840041
    Shop #: WSC 06314 000 00000
    VCID: 3FA38AB2AE669DB

    It does have quite a number of extras which may affect the coding in the module including;
    Acoustic Parking - Rear
    Light and Rain sensors
    Interior light pack
    Electric driver's seat
    Electric lumbar support
    Heated and folding door mirrors
    Electronic Climate Control
    and being an SE model it also has a multi-function steering wheel and cruise control.

    I will have a look at the module and it's coding and see if it mentions the Start/Stop system.
    Last edited by h5djr; 22nd May 2012 at 13:02.
    Dave R (h5djr)
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    A3 8V 2.0 TDI-184 Sportback Sport s-tronic quattro - Silver + lots of options - my 9th A3

  9. #8
    It seems that, on the A3, the presence of the Start/Stop system is recorded in the 01 Engine control module.

    I went in to this module and used the VCDS Long Code Helper and found that Byte 6 is coded 01 and their is a tick in the box next to Start/Stop System installed. If I un-ticked this box the Byte 6 code changed to 00. Great I thought - it works.
    But when I tried tried to save the change it came up with an error code saying that a WSC/Imp code was needed to save the change. I think this means a Workshop or Importer code which, of course I do not have. I assume this is to stop users like me from permanetly switching off the system.

    My full engine module code was: 00 1D 00 32 04 25 00 08 00 00

    If anyone knows how to get round this error I'm sure there will a lot of happy people on this forum.
    Last edited by h5djr; 22nd May 2012 at 15:30.
    Dave R (h5djr)
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    A3 8V 2.0 TDI-184 Sportback Sport s-tronic quattro - Silver + lots of options - my 9th A3

  10. #9
    NHN
    NHN's Avatar
    Modmetractor

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Coding Something
    Posts
    26,716
    It should warn you & give an option to accept the default wsc etc codes & then code the option, otherwise if it doesnt accept default then you can enter your own, like 12345, 1234, etc.

    OEM RETROFITS - CRUISE CONTROL - SAT NAV - BLUETOOTH - AMI - HEADLIGHT SYSTEMS

    PARKING SYSTEMS - DIAGNOSTICS - FAULT FINDING - BODYWORK - PAINTWORK

  11. #10
    It seems that whichever of the three options I take for the 123/12345/... code I still get the following error: Code rejected. Error 31 - Request out of range.
    Dave R (h5djr)
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    A3 8V 2.0 TDI-184 Sportback Sport s-tronic quattro - Silver + lots of options - my 9th A3

  12. #11
    NHN
    NHN's Avatar
    Modmetractor

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Coding Something
    Posts
    26,716
    Go into options on main vcds window, click the user identity tab & set the codes default in there, which will use them for any modules with wsc etc, see if that helps.

    OEM RETROFITS - CRUISE CONTROL - SAT NAV - BLUETOOTH - AMI - HEADLIGHT SYSTEMS

    PARKING SYSTEMS - DIAGNOSTICS - FAULT FINDING - BODYWORK - PAINTWORK

  13. #12
    I've tried setting the numbers in the Options screen to 12345/123/1234 but I still get the Code rejected. Error 31 - Request out of range.
    Dave R (h5djr)
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    A3 8V 2.0 TDI-184 Sportback Sport s-tronic quattro - Silver + lots of options - my 9th A3

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Stop Start Auto Start Up
    By PaulTheo in forum Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B8 Chassis)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10th March 2013, 14:53
  2. Do you use start/stop?
    By The Governor in forum A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 14th November 2012, 14:59
  3. Start/Stop
    By dzTT in forum A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 28th March 2012, 22:00
  4. Start Stop Question
    By MattyW19 in forum A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 17th March 2011, 00:14
  5. New A3 automatics pioneer stop-start
    By h5djr in forum A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 4th November 2009, 22:25

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO