Changing instrument cluster lighting a3 8l

Karlos90

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to this vag com stuff , just wondering how you do it ? I've managed change door locks at speed but this ones got me any help would be appreciated , I've had good look around and nothing helps

Cheers

Sorry so that the back lights aren't on all the time only when u turn on the sidelights

What version are you using?

On the lead it says dual-k & can <-> RS-232
With latest update available

Is tht Wat u need to know ?

Which update version is this please, software version that is?

I've done this on my 8L S3 but I cant remeber what I did. I'll have a look tonight when I get home. I think if you go into the code screen for "lighting" there should be a list of options if you hover the mouse cursor over the code. It'll be something like +1 for all lit, +2 for dials etc.

I will double check at work tomorrow , thanks got the suggestion will give it a try

i tried this but for some reason i only have 2 numbers instead of 5?

its a 2001 mate, so does this mean i cant make the dash light up with ignition?

All the above does is make the needles light up without the dials when the ignition is turned on. By default I think nothing lights up until you put the side lights on then dials and neddles light.

I'll have a quick check tonight and follow the guide above. It may be that the A3 cluster has slightly different procedure to the TT one.

The version I have is 20101206 with update 10.6.3

Scott I followed the guide above to the letter and it was identicle! I had a 5 digit number.

With your 2 digit number if you hover your mouse cursor over the number it should give you a list of the features that module can do. Take note of the number you have and try putting in the following code if it lets you and see what happens. 10010