Mapping an A3 etc etc...

Davidkent

Reaction score
Quick one really, I'm new to the Audi scene, and this forum.. so excuse any ignorance!

Basically, I've seen a postal service for remapping advertised, i was thinking of sending my ECU off and having this done..

I've also heard that a thing such as the KWP2000 Enables you to write a map file yourself.

Is this something i could do myself?
It'd be cheaper, and though i'm only getting a Generic Map and not a full custom map, its still going to improve things surely?

I've seen a lot of VAG forums where the KWP2000 is mentioned, just thought its worth an ask tbh!

Cheers

the kwp2000 and other flashers from fleabay are clones of the real tools - may or may not work at all, may kill your ecu but not that likely. most will flash an edc15 ie earlier cars, some will flash some later edc16 but the kwp2000 will not do edc16

so in theory yes, you can write your own map and flash your own car.

even if you have a reliable flasher, then can you trust the map? a generic reflash through the interweb is probably ok if you know the provenance of the remapper/code, but dont think you can play with a laptop for 1/2 hour and make your own remap - it isnt going to happen im afraid.

any map you get to flash with a generic flasher will be unlocked code - most flash companies use a protected system so that the flasher/upgrader never see unproteced map code and each downloaded map can only be flashed to 1 car, to protect the work of the map writer from being flashed to hundreds of the same car for 1 fee.

a real map with hours of development work behind it is likely to cost you £350-500 - i really wouldnt bother trying to write your own - save up and buy a good remap.

there are plenty of very cheap fly-by-night remappers with an ebay clone flasher and bad/pointless/stolen maps so dont go with the unknown (particularly mobile) cheap deals.