Audi 2.5TDI power plant

K7ERG

Reaction score
Website
www.wallaceperformance.co.uk
I am new to Audi diesels and looking to buy a A4 or A6 2.5TD. So Looking for as much info on these as possible.
The car will be used everyday and used for towing.

What engine to go for 2.5 5 cylinder or the V6?
What power outputs do these engines have in standard form PS and Nm?
What is the best way of getting power from these engines and keeping it reliable and good MPG?
Is there much point in going for a quattro?
Best year and model to go for?

Thanks in advance
Craig

AFAIK, the 2.5 in the A4 and A6 is only available as a V6. Power outputs are FWD - 150bhp & 163bhp or Quattro - 180bhp. This is for recent A4 and A6.

The I5 2.5 hasn't been available since the 100 which became the early A6. Not sure what the bhp of that was

I'd suggest trying to find a Quattro as our FWD 1.9 130 eats tyres to I imagine the V6 is even worse

HTH

Whats your budget/how old do you want to buy? A4s go for about £3000 to brand new so it makes a big difference! I reckon diesels are the way to go as you get better economy and they give good in-gear performance.