intermittent steering wheel vibration at speed and something else

wickedstef

Reaction score
Guys,

Maybe you can help me figure what this is. I have 2 issues: intermittent vibrations on the steering wheel, and very slight right biased angle on the wheel.

- Sometimes, at speed (like this morning), the wheel transfers vibrations (I don't get a free hand massage but the wheel can be seen shaking). The road surface was rubbish, but I wouldn't expect this to be the reason (happy to stand corrected) as I drive on it everyday. This doesn't happen all the time, so that's why I spot it immediately. I am not even sure this is speed related (but again, happy to stand corrected). I'm puzzled as I would expect this to be permanent symptom of a permanent issue (happy to be told otherwise, I'm no expert)

- Another thing, not sure if it's related, is that the wheel is very slightly to the right (with no hands on it). The car doesn't seem to deviate from a straight line but it is obviously difficult to ascertain. What I can say is that when not holding the wheel, it doesn't abruptly turn to any side. I haven't hit any kerb, but I do have speed bumps near my place and it is not always easy to take them under 20mph.

I took the pressure right after driving on both front tyres. So obviously it was higher than real, but it seemed equal on both sides. I will take the pressure again when cold and see if there is a big difference. Would a slight difference explain the slight (very slight)
steering wheel right bias?

May I get your opinion on this?

Thank you.

Hey Stephane:

1) check tyre pressures (41psi Front and and 39psi Rear)

2) check wheel balance as the tyre will go out of balance over time, and

3) go get an alignment check and adjust at a reputable Audi dealership. :thumbsup:

This needs to be done at an Audi dealership as the car needs to be loaded correctly the ensure accuracy - a Kwik-fit fitter won't do this...
:think:

Reactions: wickedstef