Monster MotorsportEM Tuning
Results 1 to 26 of 26
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Cruiser89

Thread: Retrofitting OEM A3/S3 TPMS sensors on RS3

  1. #1
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    South
    Posts
    138

    Retrofitting OEM A3/S3 TPMS sensors on RS3

    To anyone who may know or sell this,

    - Would you know why this car was sold without TPMS?
    - Could the OEM system for A3/S3 be retrofitted and the On-Board computer reconfigured to deal with them?

    Cheers

    Stephane
    Last edited by wickedstef; 1st May 2013 at 14:04.

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    Cruiser89's Avatar
    Advanced In Car Technologies

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bournemouth, Dorset
    Posts
    1,425

    My Social Networking

    Follow Cruiser89 On Twitter Add Cruiser89 on Facebook Visit Cruiser89's Youtube Channel Visit Cruiser89's Instagram Channel
    Yes it can be activated via VagCom if you have the correct ABS Module.

    Have a read through the thread below!

    TPMS - A3 2012 - Coding Issues? VCDS users please check!

    --

    Did a quick video to show it working via VCDS Logging



    Hope that helps :D
    wickedstef likes this.

    Tim - Project & Marketing Manager of Advanced In-Car Technologies LTD. An Audi Approved OEM / Retrofit Specialist Company. All views expressed are my own and bear no reflection on Advanced In Car Tech.




    Audi A3 For Sale: 2011 Audi A3 1.8TFSI Black Edition. Low Mileage. Great Condition. Manuf Warranty
    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/sale-wanted-audi-cars/219560-sale-2011-audi-a3-1-8tfsi-black-edition-low-mileage-great-condition-manuf-warranty.html

  4. #3
    dbm
    dbm's Avatar
    3rd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Preston, Lancs
    Posts
    511
    Quote Originally Posted by Cruiser89 View Post
    Yes it can be activated via VagCom if you have the correct ABS Module.
    Is there a way to find out which ABS module a car has? VagCom again perhaps?
    RS3 | TTS | A3 3.2Q | S3(8L)

  5. #4
    jb0o's Avatar
    North East Forum Moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    North East, UK
    Posts
    2,609
    Quote Originally Posted by dbm View Post
    Is there a way to find out which ABS module a car has? VagCom again perhaps?
    Bingo!

    Or you could remove the battery and find the ABS module behind it.

    Website | Facebook | Audi TT 2.0TDI 170 Quattro


  6. #5
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    South
    Posts
    138
    Thank you Cruiser89, I'll watch the video. I'd think dbm and I won't be the only one interested.

    I'm really curious to know if they didn't do it because of something going badly wrong...

  7. #6
    dbm
    dbm's Avatar
    3rd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Preston, Lancs
    Posts
    511
    I guess the question is - if your TPM activates how do you then reset it? Retrofit the button?

    ETA: answered my own question be following the link to thread above - handled through the DIS.
    RS3 | TTS | A3 3.2Q | S3(8L)

  8. #7
    P_G
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    339
    Having had TPMS on the RS4 for 5 years I have to say I never used it. It was more a PITA when you had tyres changed or wheels refurbed in having to reset it when it thought either the sensor wasn't working or it was registering a flat because yhe wheels and sensors had been taken out of sensor range.

  9. #8
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    South
    Posts
    138
    I get your point P_G. I come from a Megane RS 225 and the Renault's system is excellent. It will do the check each time you start the car and will tell you when a tyre requires a pressure adjustment. It will also clearly differentiate between a puncture/faulty valve and just a tyre needing readjustment. The VAG version is quite odd...

    Watched the video, now the question is, are we running the right ABS module. If they have fitted a different one, then this must be the explanation.

    Cheers guys

  10. #9
    P_G
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    339
    If it were the Megane on or one where you could see actually pressures then I agree it is worth having but the Audi system is IMO naff and for the price of the valves plus sensors (£85 per wheel)if you have the right ABS module just to let you know if it needs inflating or is flat, money better spent elsewhere.

  11. #10
    PetrolDave's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    1,532
    The 8P A3/S3/RS3(?) version of TPMS is completely different to the B7 A4/S4/RS4 version.

    The 8P version is based purely on difference in rotational speed of the wheels (which is why it needs the right ABS module), there are no pressure sensors in the wheels - so it cannot display wheel pressures.

    The B7 version is totally separate from the ABS and uses pressure sensors in each wheel. The reason that doesn't display pressures for each wheel is purely down to sloppy programming of the DIS by Audi - the information IS available in the TPMS control module and can be seen using VCDS.
    2006 RS4 Avant (Phantom Black), RNS-E (2010 version inc SDS, HW 070, SW 0220) with AMI (250GB hard disk), Bluetooth + iPhone 5

  12. #11
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    South
    Posts
    138
    £85 per wheel is quite pricey indeed. The issue is that I've had a quick look at the aftermarket ones and they are huge and cover the original valves. Then you have to add some wireless monitor in the car, but at least you get actual readings...

    I had a few puncture on the Megane and although it was frustrating, it was good to know immediately as most of the time, I could save the tyre by not driving on it more than necessary.

  13. #12
    PetrolDave's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    1,532
    Quote Originally Posted by wickedstef View Post
    The issue is that I've had a quick look at the aftermarket ones and they are huge and cover the original valves. Then you have to add some wireless monitor in the car, but at least you get actual readings...
    Take a look at the TyrePal, I've had one of them in my daily drive (a Citroen C1!) for nearly 18 months and it's been 100% reliable so far - comes in really handy when I've got the Summer wheels on as they have 40 profile tyres.

    See TyrePal TD1000 – car & light van TPMS | www.tyrepal.co.uk for a 4 wheel 60psi max system for £165.
    2006 RS4 Avant (Phantom Black), RNS-E (2010 version inc SDS, HW 070, SW 0220) with AMI (250GB hard disk), Bluetooth + iPhone 5

  14. #13
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    South
    Posts
    138
    Thank you PetrolDave. These are very similar to the ones I was referring to.

    Does it look big/out of place when fitted?

  15. #14
    PetrolDave's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    1,532
    Quote Originally Posted by wickedstef View Post
    Does it look big/out of place when fitted?
    I don't think so, I've got it mounted on a Brodit phone mount, and it's certainly not as big as e.g. a Galaxy S4!
    2006 RS4 Avant (Phantom Black), RNS-E (2010 version inc SDS, HW 070, SW 0220) with AMI (250GB hard disk), Bluetooth + iPhone 5

  16. #15
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    South
    Posts
    138
    Sorry I wasn't clear enough, I was talking about the sensors themselves

  17. #16
    PetrolDave's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    1,532
    Quote Originally Posted by wickedstef View Post
    Sorry I wasn't clear enough, I was talking about the sensors themselves
    OK, sorry.

    They're about 2cm round and a bit less deep - even on the tiny (14") OE wheels on the C1 they don't look massive (and they're held on with a grub screw to make them less likely to fall target to the "light fingered" mob, I've had them on for 18 months now with no problems).
    2006 RS4 Avant (Phantom Black), RNS-E (2010 version inc SDS, HW 070, SW 0220) with AMI (250GB hard disk), Bluetooth + iPhone 5

  18. #17
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    South
    Posts
    138
    Ok, thank you

  19. #18
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    South
    Posts
    138
    Well I knew I need this... Got a slow puncture fixed today. Glad they weren't enjoying the bank holiday. It must have been going on for some time. Had between 20 and 30psi in the rear right tyre. Pumped it yesterday to 40, went down to 38 overnight. They found a long nice nail.

    With sensors I would have know from the very moment this happened.
    Last edited by wickedstef; 6th May 2013 at 19:48.

  20. #19
    jb0o's Avatar
    North East Forum Moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    North East, UK
    Posts
    2,609
    Get it retrofitted, will cost you less than any other after-market option.

    Website | Facebook | Audi TT 2.0TDI 170 Quattro


  21. #20
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    South
    Posts
    138
    I'll probably do this jb0o as soon as I find out if the ABS module is compatible. My fear is that they didn't fit the RS3 with sensors because they changed the module...

  22. #21
    PetrolDave's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    1,532
    Quote Originally Posted by wickedstef View Post
    My fear is that they didn't fit the RS3 with sensors because they changed the module...
    See my earlier post - the TPMS on the 8P does NOT use wheel pressure sensors, it simply uses the existing ABS wheel speed sensors to measure the wheel speeds, and if one wheel is spinning faster than the others (due to reduced radius) it assumes that reduced radius is due to loss of pressure in the tyre and reports that as a low pressure fault.

    Hence why you need to have a TPMS compatible ABS module...

    See the Ross-Tech wiki page for the 8P Audi A3/S3 & A3 Cabriolet (8P) - Ross-Tech Wiki where under ABS modules it says:
    Quote Originally Posted by Ross-Tech
    with ABS based Tire Pressure Monitoring (PR-7K1/7K6)
    Last edited by PetrolDave; 7th May 2013 at 19:20.
    2006 RS4 Avant (Phantom Black), RNS-E (2010 version inc SDS, HW 070, SW 0220) with AMI (250GB hard disk), Bluetooth + iPhone 5

  23. #22
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    South
    Posts
    138
    Hi PetrolDave,

    I got that. I misused the word sensor, but I did mention the ABS module being compatible as a requirement.

  24. #23
    Veneeringman's Avatar
    Bazinga

    Status
    Online
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Back in the UK
    Posts
    637
    It does work if you've the right ABS module, see my contribution on the above thread I've even posted pictures of it working on my 61 plate S3 if you follow the instructions and have VCDS you can't go wrong.
    2012 Misano Red RS3 / Bucket seats Heated front & Rear / Aluminium Styling Pack / Bose / RNS-E / Bluetooth / Mobile phone prep low / AMI / Reversing Sensors / LED number plate lights / Led interior light pack / VCDS / Cruise Control / Exclusive Inlays / Auto Lights & Wipers / 8.5J fronts / extended leather / Michelin Pilot super sport tyres / and a few other things

  25. #24
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    South
    Posts
    138
    Hi Veneeringman,

    Thank you. I still need to find the info about the ABS module. I'll see that when i get the brakes fixed.

  26. #25
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    22
    Hi I have enabled TPMS and the reset via the DIS I have the 1AT ABS controller that is supposed to be able to support TPMS but I cannot code the module even via long coding helper on a 61 plate RS3 is anyone able to help with coding for the brake electronics please?

    image.jpg

    image.jpg

    image.jpg

    image.jpg

    image.jpg

  27. #26
    Veneeringman's Avatar
    Bazinga

    Status
    Online
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Back in the UK
    Posts
    637
    Cannot be done on the RS3 with Vag-com I'm afraid (I've tried several different things and nothing worked)
    2012 Misano Red RS3 / Bucket seats Heated front & Rear / Aluminium Styling Pack / Bose / RNS-E / Bluetooth / Mobile phone prep low / AMI / Reversing Sensors / LED number plate lights / Led interior light pack / VCDS / Cruise Control / Exclusive Inlays / Auto Lights & Wipers / 8.5J fronts / extended leather / Michelin Pilot super sport tyres / and a few other things

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. What Else Do I Need to Retrofit OEM Xenon???
    By StagsyA4 in forum Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 7th March 2014, 17:18
  2. Retrofitting OEM wing mirror LEDs?
    By emeraldA3guy in forum A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 1st January 2011, 01:48
  3. Retrofit OEM Bluetooth to Concert 2 with Bose - Possible?
    By Joe90k in forum A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th January 2010, 15:36
  4. VAG COM help- retrofit OEM xenons
    By latta1989 in forum A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 18th January 2010, 17:54
  5. Retrofitted OEM Xenons
    By alfiejts in forum A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: 21st November 2008, 09:00

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO