Monster MotorsportAH Fabrications
Results 1 to 25 of 25

Thread: Loss of Power

  1. #1
    PigPen's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    228

    Loss of Power

    Anyone else had this? Bearing in mind mine is only a few days out of the dealership and up to 300 miles on leaving the work car park tonight there was no power. With the engine running she crawled out on to the main road almost like the handbrake was still on juddering as she went. No warning lights came on and I got out to check all around but nothing. Left her running for a couple of minutes and she drove off fine almost like the engine had warmed up and all was OK? Dealership have told me I should get Audi Assistance to get a report from the engine although they aren't sure that would work with no warning lights on the dashboard.

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    Kelza's Avatar
    MODERATOR

    Status
    Online
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Cumbria
    Posts
    2,457
    Never heard of this before mate ?although neutral and handbrake on will get you no where, unless it was in drive an was not in gear properly?

  4. #3
    PigPen's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    228
    It did feel like it wasn't in gear properly. No warning lights suggests it can't be serious right so maybe keep going to see if it happens again?

  5. #4
    MBK
    MBK's Avatar
    5th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Neath
    Posts
    1,146
    No nothing like that but I agree about giving Audi Assist a call, it seemed to be an impressive range of diagnostics to me and they were able to pass this information to the dealer. If nothing else it will reassure you all is ok, I was glad of this when mine peppered my drive with the black fluid splats from the exhaust, just condensation but how was I to know that?

  6. #5
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    194
    Piggy.

    Your name is not 'Jonah' by any chance.

  7. #6
    PigPen's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    228
    Having a very bad Audi day. Never had problems with any of my previous cars

  8. #7
    Kelza's Avatar
    MODERATOR

    Status
    Online
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Cumbria
    Posts
    2,457
    Hi mate just trying to make u feel better ,when i picked up my car from harrogate audi on the drive home someone smacked right into the back of me ,,new bumper ,only had the car 1 hour....

  9. #8
    PigPen's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    228
    Nice start to ownership! It's the hassle as much as the cost I just hoped the dealer who had accepted they were then would offer to pay at least half to keep his customer happy but it seems they don't give a monkeys. In my trade and most from what I have read most work is repeat business so how the heck do these people survive? I would never buy a car from them again obnoxious simpletons.

  10. #9
    Kelza's Avatar
    MODERATOR

    Status
    Online
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Cumbria
    Posts
    2,457
    When i bought my last s3 the windscreen was full of chips ( which they said it will have a brand new screen) and a few other bits where not right ,when i phoned them all i got was ,sorry theres nothing we can do ...

  11. #10
    PigPen's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    228
    Which dealership?

  12. #11
    Kelza's Avatar
    MODERATOR

    Status
    Online
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Cumbria
    Posts
    2,457
    Parklands in gloucester...i live in cumbria so its a 7-8 hours round trip,so i just lived with it ,and was never happy with the paint ,screen and the foam part was missing in the boot ,that i can live with but ,screen and paint used to drive me nuts.a proper detail will sort out paint work
    Last edited by Kelza; 5th March 2013 at 21:46.

  13. #12
    PigPen's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    228
    I'm working on a trump car and don't give up easily but it may take awhile ............... meanwhile the RAC are coming out in the morning to do a diagnostic test. I told them this in the first place and then they rang to say they were sending someone local as all RAC vans were busy. I asked them to check if the 'local' guys has the equipment to do the test at which point they said no so went away to cancel them. They then came back and asked if the RAC could come in the morning! Brakes didn't squeal on the way home so fingers crossed but probably not given the history of these cars!

  14. #13
    Kelza's Avatar
    MODERATOR

    Status
    Online
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Cumbria
    Posts
    2,457
    Hi if it happens again get someone local with vagcom to check your car out or even amd tuning in essex also i hope you dont get brake squeal as i was going to try get and group buy on anti squeal brembo pads ,but i,m now told changing the pads to none oem voids the warrenty....

  15. #14
    P_G
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    339
    PigPen, was this one of Stafford's pre-registered stock? If so it may have been sitting around a while before you picked it up and just needs a couple of tanks of decent fuel put through it. Also invest in a VCDS cable, worth its weight in gold and quicker than waiting for Roadside to turn up.

  16. #15
    PigPen's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    228
    No I bought it in transit from Germany so it was with them for about three weeks while I waited for the '13' plate. What is a VCDS cable do? I'm hoping it was me doing something stupid but I checked everything, handbrake, gear position etc just odd.

  17. #16
    P_G
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    339
    VCDS is a diagnostic tool much like the dealers have. Manufactured by Ross-tech, plugs in via USB into a PC and then into the OBD-II port. You can run your own diagnostics and Ross-tech supply online help and manuals so you know what the fault codes are. You can also do a whole load of cool stuff to you car as well with it.

  18. #17
    PigPen's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    228
    Best place to buy said tool / equipment?

  19. #18
    Kelza's Avatar
    MODERATOR

    Status
    Online
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Cumbria
    Posts
    2,457
    Hi mate NHN (nigel) sells thems or go to ross tech

  20. #19
    PigPen's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    228
    Still waiting for Nigel to give me a quote for the Bose might be quicker to wait for the RAC Only joking and no offence intended! How much does such an item cost?

  21. #20
    P_G
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    339
    Ilexa or Ross-tech directly.

  22. #21
    quattro81's Avatar
    All the gear.. No idea

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    982
    Quote Originally Posted by Rs3kel View Post
    Hi mate NHN (nigel) sells thems or go to ross tech
    +1 I've got a vcds lead from Nigel, and its come in soooo handy so many times.. Well worth the money, mate
    Red is the colour..

  23. #22
    PigPen's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    228
    RAC found errors on my stereo and central locking but nothing with my engine so all seems fine.......................although he was very rude and said what an idiot I was for buying a new RS3

  24. #23
    45bvtc's Avatar
    5th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Staffordshire
    Posts
    1,100
    Quote Originally Posted by PigPen View Post
    RAC found errors on my stereo and central locking but nothing with my engine so all seems fine.......................although he was very rude and said what an idiot I was for buying a new RS3
    The RS3 is NOT the car for you... Admit it and get rid!

  25. #24
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    112
    Bet it was the mechatronic unit

  26. #25
    PigPen's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    228
    Quote Originally Posted by 45bvtc View Post
    The RS3 is NOT the car for you... Admit it and get rid!
    ?

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Loss of power
    By dermot in forum A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14th August 2005, 23:41
  2. Loss of power...........
    By VAGMAN1 in forum A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th July 2005, 18:30
  3. Loss of power. Turbo problems?
    By polycage in forum A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th May 2005, 08:03
  4. Help - loss of power
    By Mike_Wales in forum A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 9th August 2004, 22:42
  5. Loss of power - blown turbo?
    By polycage in forum A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 15th July 2004, 01:03

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO