M6 accident 21-10-08

JohnboyC

Reaction score
Not sure if this is a rant and rave.....but how many more deaths on the roads do we in the UK have to put up with, when the accident has some "involvement" with foreign lorry drivers.....

My condolances go out to the family of five killed when their car just burst into flames......

I was broadsided by an Austrian 40 tonne truck last year...so I feel I have some experience...luckily we survived with an entire side of my car trashed.....we were just badly shaken up

Is it not high time foreign lorry drivers were banned (ok bit radical that) or at the very least ALL lorrys in excess of 30 tonnes forced to stay in the inside lane of motorways......I for one have had enough of these juggernaughts overtaking each other when one lorry can do 2mph more than the one in front......causing all sorts of traffic snarl ups....

Whats everyone else think ?

It's now 6 dead :crying: Sounds like an entire family wiped out.

No idea of the circumstances but it does appear that foreign truckers are "immune" from some aspects of the law that apply to UK drivers.

The foreign driver problem is largely down to a blind spot along the right hand side of the lorry caused by the left hand drive tractor unit. I think UK lorries in Europe are legally required to have a blindspot mirror fitted on the cab to minimise if not eliminate the 'black hole' on the right hand side of the cab. Foreign drivers aren't currently legally required to fit this mirror when driving in the UK, which is very dangerous, and surely lives could be saved by a simple change in the law.

Isn't it about time we fitted lorries with some sort of electronic warning that bleeps if they get to close to something beside them?

My condolances to the family and those involved,