Badger5Monster Motorsport
Results 1 to 34 of 34

Thread: bluetooth Q7

  1. #1
    vw754's Avatar
    vorsprung Durch Technik

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    U.K
    Posts
    1,973

    bluetooth Q7

    hi,Q7 ive got a q7 and the car has every extra(i think) i have tried to connect my phone to the cars bluetooth (if the car has bluetooth),how can i check if the car has it?on the car original receipt it states car has ...technology pack,communications pack,and visibility pack. Ive only tried connect my phone to the car and not tried cars bluetooth to pick up my phone.
    Full leather/19"wheels/cruise/

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    s8craig's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,557
    If when you press the TEL button the MMI says "Telephone not installed" then you don't have bluetooth or it is fauty, if it says anything else then you have bluetooth.

    Comms pack means you have bluetooth.

    Pairing is simple, put the key in the ignition and turn the key so the dash lights up.

    Search from your phone for the car in the bluetooth page (depending on phone the procedure vaires)

    When you find Audi UHVxxxx try and pair to it using the code 1234



    When paired it should automatically connect every time, some phones you do have to allows access by setting the car as trusted on the phone.

  4. #3
    vw754's Avatar
    vorsprung Durch Technik

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    U.K
    Posts
    1,973
    thanks again mate.......MMI says "Telephone not installed" im 99% sure it does(will check in the morning) ive tried with my phone it doesn't pick it up,must be faulty,how do i find/fix etc.......ive just upgraded to version 5570 of the mmi,still not helped..
    Quote Originally Posted by s8craig View Post
    If when you press the TEL button the MMI says "Telephone not installed" then you don't have bluetooth or it is fauty, if it says anything else then you have bluetooth.

    Comms pack means you have bluetooth.

    Pairing is simple, put the key in the ignition and turn the key so the dash lights up.

    Search from your phone for the car in the bluetooth page (depending on phone the procedure vaires)

    When you find Audi UHVxxxx try and pair to it using the code 1234



    When paired it should automatically connect every time, some phones you do have to allows access by setting the car as trusted on the phone.
    Full leather/19"wheels/cruise/

  5. #4
    s8craig's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,557
    It's not unusual for a phone ECU from your year of car to have failed, in fact it's very common. If you have warranty then take it back, but if you have fecked about with it and they find out then maybe any warranty will be void.

    First I would run update disk 2 again, it should take over an hour to update the phone ECU correctly. If it has nothing to update then the ECU is really faulty or you don't have phone prep.

    FYI

    Depending on the phone prep you have, and I think it will be the basic one as the rSAP didn't come out until 2007, so first check if you have a cradle plate under the right section of the armrest. You should be able to pop up the first part of the armrest to reveal storage and/or a cradle plate.

    Failing that and it is an rSAP system without a cradle you can check in the front lighting dome for a mic. It's simple to remove the covers, it comes away in two parts, center first i think and then the surrounding section. You should be able to see near the drivers side a microphone with the left side (passenger being empty). If both are empty you do not have a phone prep. Look at the large grill you have removed and you can see where the mics should be. They are rectangular about 30mmx12mm.

  6. #5
    vw754's Avatar
    vorsprung Durch Technik

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    U.K
    Posts
    1,973
    i have the mic's and the cradle plate but no cradle,would it not show up invcds as faulty?....disc 2 was updated succesfully,and yes took a good 50-60 mins.
    Quote Originally Posted by s8craig View Post
    It's not unusual for a phone ECU from your year of car to have failed, in fact it's very common. If you have warranty then take it back, but if you have fecked about with it and they find out then maybe any warranty will be void.

    First I would run update disk 2 again, it should take over an hour to update the phone ECU correctly. If it has nothing to update then the ECU is really faulty or you don't have phone prep.

    FYI

    Depending on the phone prep you have, and I think it will be the basic one as the rSAP didn't come out until 2007, so first check if you have a cradle plate under the right section of the armrest. You should be able to pop up the first part of the armrest to reveal storage and/or a cradle plate.

    Failing that and it is an rSAP system without a cradle you can check in the front lighting dome for a mic. It's simple to remove the covers, it comes away in two parts, center first i think and then the surrounding section. You should be able to see near the drivers side a microphone with the left side (passenger being empty). If both are empty you do not have a phone prep. Look at the large grill you have removed and you can see where the mics should be. They are rectangular about 30mmx12mm.
    Full leather/19"wheels/cruise/

  7. #6
    s8craig's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,557
    So you have all the requisites for bluetooth, you updated your module, if you didn't have a module it wouldn't have been updated and you would have known you had a phone prep and not be asking such questions about wether you had one or not.

    ALL Q7's with phone prep have blutetooth, there was never a non bluetooth version for the Q7 as it came out in 2006 and bluetooth was well established by then.

    They don't show up in VCDS as faulty sometimes, depends on the fault. Corrupted modules can be seen perfectly but still not work.

    So I would get it replaced, if it's never worked since day 1 then I would get it fixed under any warranty that you might have if it is covered, as some warranties don't cover electrical issues.

    But I think the main issue here is the fact it says "Telephone not installed" that is a dead giveway for a corrupt module.

  8. #7
    vw754's Avatar
    vorsprung Durch Technik

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    U.K
    Posts
    1,973
    Thanks alot for the help.
    Quote Originally Posted by s8craig View Post
    So you have all the requisites for bluetooth, you updated your module, if you didn't have a module it wouldn't have been updated and you would have known you had a phone prep and not be asking such questions about wether you had one or not.

    ALL Q7's with phone prep have blutetooth, there was never a non bluetooth version for the Q7 as it came out in 2006 and bluetooth was well established by then.

    They don't show up in VCDS as faulty sometimes, depends on the fault. Corrupted modules can be seen perfectly but still not work.

    So I would get it replaced, if it's never worked since day 1 then I would get it fixed under any warranty that you might have if it is covered, as some warranties don't cover electrical issues.

    But I think the main issue here is the fact it says "Telephone not installed" that is a dead giveway for a corrupt module.
    Full leather/19"wheels/cruise/

  9. #8
    vw754's Avatar
    vorsprung Durch Technik

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    U.K
    Posts
    1,973
    Well,ive got it working ! thanks.
    Full leather/19"wheels/cruise/

  10. #9
    s8craig's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,557
    Would you like to tell us what you did?

  11. #10
    vw754's Avatar
    vorsprung Durch Technik

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    U.K
    Posts
    1,973
    the same as before,tried to connect only this time after trying 4/5 times before ........it worked
    Quote Originally Posted by s8craig View Post
    Would you like to tell us what you did?
    Full leather/19"wheels/cruise/

  12. #11
    s8craig's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,557
    But I thought you said "Telephone Not installed"

    Are you sure it didn't say "Telephone not connected or properly attached" or something similar?

  13. #12
    vw754's Avatar
    vorsprung Durch Technik

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    U.K
    Posts
    1,973
    defo said not installed.........i found that weird too
    Quote Originally Posted by s8craig View Post
    But I thought you said "Telephone Not installed"

    Are you sure it didn't say "Telephone not connected or properly attached" or something similar?
    Full leather/19"wheels/cruise/

  14. #13
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by s8craig View Post
    ALL Q7's with phone prep have blutetooth, there was never a non bluetooth version for the Q7 as it came out in 2006 and bluetooth was well established by then.

    They don't show up in VCDS as faulty sometimes, depends on the fault. Corrupted modules can be seen perfectly but still not work.

    So I would get it replaced, if it's never worked since day 1 then I would get it fixed under any warranty that you might have if it is covered, as some warranties don't cover electrical issues.

    But I think the main issue here is the fact it says "Telephone not installed" that is a dead giveway for a corrupt module.
    Hello,

    I'm very interested in this post, because I just bought a 2006 Q7. It has between the two front seats a sort of craddle (or an adaptator where I could plug a craddle ??), something like this :


    When I press the "Phone" bouton in the MMI (2G) I have a message in green on the screen that said "Your telephone may not be connected or attached properly".

    So I supposed I had bluetooth...

    I activate the bluetooth on my Nokia phone (lumia 920), but no "audi xxx" appear in the ist of available devices ??...

    As you seems to be quite comfortable with all the bt connectivity stuff, yould you please help me by answering this questions :

    1. Can I suppose (of affirm) that my car is equiped with bluetooth ?
    2. When yes, why does the audi not appear in the device list in my nokia ?
    3. Which module is concerned with the BT ? Is it something that I could check through vcds to activate or check if I have something broken ? ?

    Thanks...
    Attached Images Attached Images

  15. #14
    s8craig's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,557
    Yes you have bluetooth, as stated all Q7's with a phone prep have bluetooth.


    Do you have the ignition on when pairing up and are you doing it within the first few minutes?

    Have you actually done a search on your phone for the car or are you just expecting it to appear? You must search for the phone kit from the phone.

    Failing all of the above......

    When on the TEL page, press SETUP and reset the telephone system from the menu and delete all bluetooth devices and start again.

  16. #15
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by s8craig View Post
    Yes you have bluetooth, as stated all Q7's with a phone prep have bluetooth.


    Do you have the ignition on when pairing up and are you doing it within the first few minutes?

    Have you actually done a search on your phone for the car or are you just expecting it to appear? You must search for the phone kit from the phone.

    Failing all of the above......

    When on the TEL page, press SETUP and reset the telephone system from the menu and delete all bluetooth devices and start again.

    Hi, thanks for your help.

    So I tried to switch ignition on and to wait with my nokia (I alos tested the same with an iphone4), bluetooth ON, in searching mode (automatic, no way to force the searching).

    No success..

    I also tried to delete all the buetooth devices (no one listed), still the same...

    I checked, and I have the mic in the roof.

    any suggestion ?

  17. #16
    s8craig's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,557
    Not really, unless your doing something wrong and we can't see it then it should work.

    It maybe faulty, I have replaced two bluetooth ECU's this week with connection issues. But they were really faulty, unable to connect to them with diagnostics and killing the MMI.

    If your close to Manchester I'm happy to look at it for you

  18. #17
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    12
    thanks for your proposal, but I'm in switzerland :-)

    any way to check the module that you speak about and that could be defect with a vagcom ?

  19. #18
    s8craig's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,557
    The Iphone is probably the best way to test connectivity, as you say when you go to the bluetooth page in your Iphone it automatically scans for devices.

    So I would forget the nokia for now and just start again with the Iphone to make sure it is faulty.

    Turn the ignition on.
    Select bluetooth on the Iphone and let it search
    Make sure you do this within a few minutes of turning on the ignition.

    If it still doesn't find it then your ECU is probably faulty. Diagnostics may show a corrupted firmware, using VCDS go the the advanced page to look to the ECU serial number etc.

  20. #19
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    12
    ok it's exactly what I did twice today... Ignition ON (no engine start, just ignition), iphone on bluetooth page, switched on, but no audi device listed in the iphone ! Waited 2 or 3 minutes like this, nothing...

    What the way to diagnostic my ECU ? And which ECU do I have to check ?
    Last edited by epfyffer; 28th March 2013 at 21:22.

  21. #20
    s8craig's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,557
    You need to use VCDS diagnostics or VAS by a dealership. You need to look at module 77 the handyvorb or telephone ECU.

  22. #21
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    12
    HI,

    So this morning I tried to upgrade my MMI from 5.1.50 to 55.7.0. Successfull.

    Unfortunatly, I now have the message "The telephone is not installed"...

    I tried to check through VCDS, module 77 (teltphone) is no more reacheable, "Impossible to contact" ! Yesterday, it was reacheable, and did not returned any error message !

    Any idea ?? Something to configune after having upgrade the MMI system to re-enalbe the telephone module ???

  23. #22
    s8craig's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,557
    Run the 2nd disk again. DIsk 2 of 3

  24. #23
    vw754's Avatar
    vorsprung Durch Technik

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    U.K
    Posts
    1,973
    like craig says run disc 2 again
    Full leather/19"wheels/cruise/

  25. #24
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    12
    OK it's in progress.

    Much more slow that the first time (40% progress in 20 minutes this time, thge first time it took about 10 minutes for the whole process of CD 2).

    I keep you in touch...

  26. #25
    s8craig's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,557
    Ok, it's working then, what happens on the first run is that it effectively wipes the ECU, initialises it, hence telephone not installed.

    The second run installs the software and that's what takes the time.

  27. #26
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    12
    ok done !

    this time the 77 - telephone module is back, no error code in the VCDS, and again "your telephone may not be connected or attached properly"...

    I've now try to switch off - remove the key - key in again - ignition on - always with my iphone in the hand in searching mode, without any success !!! Still not discover any Audi BT device !

  28. #27
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    12
    DONE !!!!

    OK I just changed a setup in my 77-Telephone module :

    Hands Free Function
    [Select]
    [77 - Telephone]
    [Adaptation - 10]
    Channel 134
    [Read]


    • 0 = Hands-free active while Bluetooth connection is active but without cell phone engaged
    • 1 = Hands-free only active with cell phone engaged
    [Test]
    [Save]
    [Done, Go Back]
    [Close Controller, Go Back - 06]
    In fact I had a 1 in this setup, I changed it to 0, saved, and the Audi device appeared suddenly in my iphone !!!

    Pairing without any problem, testing it successfull for all the phone functionnality. Whaou, nice !!

    Thanks for your help !!!

    PS : possible now to listen to the music I have in my phone through bluetooth in my MMI ??? I have the AMI interface for USB and iPhone, but as I now have a nokia (also working well for telephone functionnality in bluetooth) it would be great to listen the music I have in my phone. I had this functionality in my old sony autoradio...

    Thanks again I find it so bad that our cars are equiped with wuch great options and that they are not activated !!!

  29. #28
    s8craig's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,557
    I had started writing this and then went and got a shower before the rest of the family got there first, but seems you have found it....


    Have you checked Bluetooth is turned on in the module.

    Check the phone ECU adaptations, module 77, channels 132 upwards

    [Select]
    [77 - Telephone]
    [Adaptation - 10]
    Channel 133
    [Read]

    0 = Bluetooth OFF
    1 = Bluetooth ON

    [Test]
    [Save]
    [Done, Go Back]
    [Close Controller, Go Back - 06]

  30. #29
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    12
    Yes, thanks for your assistance. In fact, it was not the channel 133 that I had to adapt, in 133 bluetooth was already ON, tub on the 134 I had a 1 and when I set it to 0 it worked...

    I tested yesterday during a trip, BT works perfect. I just cannot sync my telbook (because I'm using windows phone 8 that does not support this synchro.).

    Thanks again for your help, I really appreciate !

  31. #30
    s8craig's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,557
    Ah yes that channel would only allow a connection through the cradle plate.

  32. #31
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    12
    thanks for the explanation !

  33. #32
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2
    Hi guys sorry to jump on this but can someone tell me where exactly the bt module is in the q7 ???

  34. #33
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    292
    Quote Originally Posted by phiggystardust View Post
    Hi guys sorry to jump on this but can someone tell me where exactly the bt module is in the q7 ???
    Need to know the same myself!!

    A friend just got a 2008 Q7 with MMI and AMi but as far as I can see no blueooth module.

    I did a VCDS scan and nothing in module 77.

    Has anyone retrofitted one of the the OEM kits from ebay?

    I did one on 2007 A3 and it was easy enough but if radio module is in the boot of a Q7 do all cables need to run there?

    Also is there an alternative to the OEM under passenger seat location?

    thanks

    Paul

  35. #34
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1

    Can you help

    Quote Originally Posted by s8craig View Post
    So you have all the requisites for bluetooth, you updated your module, if you didn't have a module it wouldn't have been updated and you would have known you had a phone prep and not be asking such questions about wether you had one or not.

    ALL Q7's with phone prep have blutetooth, there was never a non bluetooth version for the Q7 as it came out in 2006 and bluetooth was well established by then.

    They don't show up in VCDS as faulty sometimes, depends on the fault. Corrupted modules can be seen perfectly but still not work.

    So I would get it replaced, if it's never worked since day 1 then I would get it fixed under any warranty that you might have if it is covered, as some warranties don't cover electrical issues.

    But I think the main issue here is the fact it says "Telephone not installed" that is a dead giveway for a corrupt module.
    Hi s8craig I have a q7 2007 and the radio goes of every few minutes for a few seconds then comes back on I see you are in Manchester do you have a phone number so I can book my car in with go get sorted it's doing my head in

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. symphony and nokia bluetooth
    By rjc in forum A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 22nd December 2003, 14:20
  2. SE Handsfree Bluetooth Car Kit
    By MarkyB in forum General Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th August 2003, 14:43
  3. MOVED: SE Handsfree Bluetooth Car Kit
    By MarkyB in forum A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th August 2003, 17:40
  4. BLUETOOTH HELP
    By RichA3Turbo in forum General Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th May 2003, 22:40

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO