A3 Beginner Modification Thread

kevscotty

Reaction score
Hello all,
I have recently purchased this 2000 1.6 A3.. The car is is great condition and a pleasure to drive but I am having some problems
and also as I am new to car ownership and audis I was hoping to get some advice from more experianced a3 drivers and modifiers :think:

Firstly some pics..

6078291530_6bb3470843_m.jpg

6078291650_7187f86f82_m.jpg

6078291148_aa258f964a_m.jpg

6077751097_a8d2c1aa72_m.jpg

6077751271_1090dd04ec_m.jpg

6077751049_7cf0118003_m.jpg

Aesthetic Issues:
1. Front drivers side light is condensation filled - Is this easy to fix? best replacement lights to get?
2. Seats are in good condition but would eventually like some customised seats.. where would be a good place to start with this?
3. The alloys are in pretty bad condition.. would consider doing them myself but would this be hard as they have a reflective finish? alternatively what action would yous advise?

Mechanical Problems:
1. Wooing noise - happens when on long drives and sounds like its coming from the front drivers side wheel, the noise stops when the brakes are applied..wheel bearing? other issue?
2. Reving when no accelerator applied - has happened a few times since i got it, always when stopped (at lights etc) revs rise and drop and sometimes car cuts out whens revs drop to 0..
3. Oil light is on even though oil level is high
:sadlike:

Any advice much appreciated :]

Hi and welcome,

Condensation in the light is simply take it off, dry it out, re-seal and reinstall. Is this indicator or headlight side light?
Alloys i would personally spray them anthracite or something similar but if you want them back to oem i would recommend a professional reconditioner who normally charge £50 ish a wheel.
The "wooing" noise is a bit weird, to check the wheel bearing jack up that side of the car and see if there is any play in the wheel.