lens advice - olympus

205man

Reaction score
im looking for some advice on which of 2 olympus lenes i should buy.

My friend has these 2 lens that he is going to trade in tomorrow but has offered them to me first but as im still new to dlsr photography i could do with some advice which to go for as basically they are both the same just one is newer version.

ive doen some reasearch and it does seem to sway towards the older model lens being better as its a faster lens and better made but bth have plus and cons

this will also be my first telephoto lens so wasnt looking to spend mega money as im working way up

here they are - older model first

Olympus - ZUIKO DIGITAL 40-150mm 1:3.5-4.5

Olympus - ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 40-150mm 1:4.0-5.6

could really need advice before he goes to trade them in the morning

I'd go with the ED lens as the ED glass is likely to offer better light transfer to the CCD. I was inclined to say go with the one with the lower aperture value as you get an extra stop of light to the lens meaning you can get away with slower shutter speed in low light situations (less shake), but better glass should always translate into a better image.

I take it neither lens has IS?

Last edited:
no neither lens has IS as olympus deals with that by having it built into the body, so realistically both would probaly need te assistance of a tripod/monopod at full zoom, which i dont have a problem with.

the newer one is much lighter almost half the weight in fact but just feels bit cheap being all plastic, but ive seen sample shots of both they both seem to give great results but the earlier version seems to edge it.

so i dont know wether having a lighter lens and advantage or not....ive also got big clumsy hands lol so maybe the bigger lens better for me.

DAMM which he had given me more notice i could have tried them out both ...

Last edited: