Golf R, auto express test

Itguy

Reaction score
Did anyone see the review of the golf R in auto express (I think it was) this week?

against a rsq3 and a a45 amg.

Golf won and also managed to lay down a 4.5 0-60 in the wet, beating the other two - quite incredible if true.

The S3 only got a passing mention as a suitable alternative but I tend to read the golf R and s3 reviews interchangeably.

They also compared these new trio to the 996 911 turbo of yesteryear - something I can see similarities in too actually.

Yeah, I saw that and agree, S3 and Golf R are pretty much interchangeable in my mind too, same gearbox, same engine, same basic stats. So body and interior aside, I think they're the same for performance purposes. Which means the S3 blows the AMG away!!

It's in this weeks mag on the shelves now. I didn't buy a copy so can't scan in but pop into a supermarket!

Reactions: Scotty2011
It'll be up on the website soon I think. I have a subscription on my iPad

I notice the Golf R is getting a lot of press and the S3 seems to conveniently be overlooked. I did consider the Golf, but the looks of it trouble me, the interior isn't up with the Audi, nor are some of the options and the service from the dealers definitely lags behind Audi. The whole R brand thing IMO has no kudos. The last golf R was pretty lame - I had use of one for a short while and was left a bit underwhelmed by the thing. When you also factor in that the price is more or less the same when you spec the audi and VW equally, why would you buy a Golf R over an S3? Beats me to be honest. I did find a good comparison in a german car mag I was flicking through when delayed at Frankfurt airport last week, the Audi was a tenth or two quicker than the golf and they did a timed lap, the S3 won that as well. Albeit by not a lot.