Washing your car

RVP20

Reaction score
Hey everyone....so with the bad weather this week and rain, my car needs it's first clean and I was wondering how go go about it?
I don't want to put any marks on the paint by using the wrong sponge or washing it the wrong way.

Can anyone give advice on the best sponge I can buy and what shampoo to use?

Hey everyone....so with the bad weather this week and rain, my car needs it's first clean and I was wondering how go go about it?
I don't want to put any marks on the paint by using the wrong sponge or washing it the wrong way.

Can anyone give advice on the best sponge I can buy and what shampoo to use?

Never get close to your car with a sponge - it's like using a sandpaper.
Get yourself 2 buckets and a washing mitt or two- check out detailing section on this forum and detailingworld forum. I'm just learning how to clean my car properly so won't be able to recommend any specific products.

Good Washing Technique - Detailing World

Reactions: Madmiles, s3_trev and hopeless
I use one of these - Kent Q2429 2-in-1 Microfibre Noodle Wash Mitt: Amazon.co.uk: Car & Motorbike

Probably not as good as a lambs wool mitt or whatever but does the job and is cheap :) I use the 2 bucket method with some shampoo in one of them, a microfibre towel, microfibre cloths, some glass cleaner and a wheel brush. I'm learning as well so don't take what I do as 'the way to do it' or anything, but I bought a load of stuff from amazon (all the stuff mentioned in fact, including the 2 buckets) for about £35, and works quite nicely. After having done it a few times now, I'd probably get a second mitt for the wheels (or get a better one and use my existing one for wheels), some wheel cleaner stuff (brake dust is a PITA!), some better microfibre cloths than the ones I got which do seem to leave a bit of fluff in places.