Monster MotorsportEM Tuning
Results 1 to 18 of 18
Like Tree6Likes
  • 5 Post By gjonesy51
  • 1 Post By gjonesy51

Thread: 500 Mile Mini Review! A3 Sportback 1.6TDi S-line

  1. #1
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Posts
    9

    500 Mile Mini Review! A3 Sportback 1.6TDi S-line

    Hi All,

    Up until now I’ve been silent just snooping on everyone else’s posts and doing research on my car which I’ve just taken delivery of yesterday! I got the car fom Coventry Audi and had the pleasure of a 7 hr drive back to Aberdeen where I live so feel that I’m fairly familiar with the car now and thought I'd post a little review for anyone thinking of taking the plunge and getting one of their own.

    My spec:

    A3 Sportback 1.6TDi S-line
    Daytona Grey
    Interior light pack
    SE Suspension
    Privacy Glass
    Comfort Pack
    Alu Roof Rails
    ACC
    Leather
    Heated Seats
    Auto High Beam
    B&O Stero

    First impressions of the car was that the interior is definitely a step up from the 8p. Felt more luxourious somehow and its noticeably really quiet inside once you shut the door – all outside noise blocked out. I previously had a 2009 S3 sportback, which was a nicely specced car, but this is definitely an improvement and feels more luxurious.

    Pros:

    • Quieter – less wind and engine noise than my s3. (Less engine noise to be expected!). The 1.6TDi is really quiet though, felt quieter than the 2.0TDi which I test drove before buying.
    • More tech – found the MMI system really easy to get to grips with
    • ACC – better than I could of imagined. Doesn’t get confused if someone cuts in front, worked perfectly and made the 400mile journey home much less tiring! Havent had chance to try it on a country road yet. I found it best to have it on the closest distance setting – like a typical audi driver!!
    • Handling – I chose the SE suspension. It possibly sits a tiny bit higher than I’d of liked appearance wise, but the handling is amazing. I would say it’s more nimble than the S3 I had previously and is amazing at smoothing out bumps / potholes etc. Overall very pleased with it.
    • The 1.6TDi engine – definitely adequate in terms of performance. Would even go as far as to say its nippy in town. Once you’re up to 60mph +, it isn’t what you’d call fast for overtaking, but it definitely has enough torque to get past someone easily. Seems to be a very smooth / quiet engine rather than giving you a big shove in the back. Did find it was quite easy to bit sitting at 90mph plus without noticing on motorway or feeling like the engine was struggling in any way.
    • Economy. With the car being brand new I’ve found the following:
      • Averaged 53mpg on drive England – Scotland. Which was 80% motorways at between 70-90mph, and 20% country roads 50-70mph.
      • When driving 80mph plus, it was sitting at around 50mpg (indicated)
      • When driving at 70 mph it was easily reaching high 50’s.
      • When driving to work today (30 miles over mixed country / a-roads) I averaged 59mpg without really trying and even managed to squeeze in a few overtakes.
      • Overall – quite pleased. Would think car will average around 55mpg in real life over mixed driving.
      • Storage – boot seems bigger than my previous 8P, more nooks and crannies to keep stuff!
    Cons:
    • Havent found very many yet!
    • Would have been nice to be able to turn on the interior lighting during day time
    • Some tyre noise from the 18” alloys, but not worse than on my 8P
    • More power would always be nice, but I spent the budget on a nicer spec instead which so far im not regretting!

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    Sandra's Avatar
    MODERATOR

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    15,487
    Welcome to audi-sport.net. Where in Scotland are you? Thanks for sharing the info with us all. Any pics? Enjoy the car and the forum. x
    Audi-sport.net Lanyards & Stickers
    To find Audi-Sport-Net members with VCDS check out the MAP


  4. #3
    TDI-line's Avatar
    Uber Post Whore

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Peterborough
    Posts
    8,885
    Hello and welcome, at last.

    That is really nice spec and colour.

    2013 AUDI A3 SB S-LINE : 2.0 TDIQ 184 : GLACIER WHITE :
    : S-TRONIC : COMFORT PACK : SD SAT NAV : FOLDING MIRRORS : HEATED SEATS: RIGID BOOT LINER :

  5. #4
    snakehips's Avatar
    3rd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    North Herts
    Posts
    612
    Nice review. Interesting what you say about the SE suspension as I deleted sports suspension too, but does it really look a little high appearance-wise? Sports suspension only lowers it two thirds of an inch, and S-line only an inch. Is that really noticeable?
    And how is the B&O stereo (the most important piece of kit)?
    A3 SB S-Line TDi 184PS Quattro S-tronic. Shiraz Red, Tech Pack, Comfort Pack, B&O, Sunroof, LED lights, lots of other stuff.

  6. #5
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by snakehips View Post
    Nice review. Interesting what you say about the SE suspension as I deleted sports suspension too, but does it really look a little high appearance-wise? Sports suspension only lowers it two thirds of an inch, and S-line only an inch. Is that really noticeable?
    And how is the B&O stereo (the most important piece of kit)?
    Hi thanks. Possibly looks slightly too high, definitely not rediculous by any means and it's not like it looks like its on stilts or anything. I was used to an S3 before which was really low so that's also possibly clouding my judgement a bit though! Will take a photo and stick it up when I get chance. Guess it just comes down to personal taste. To be honest would prob order the SE suspension again as ive been delighted with the handling and lack of roll!

    Haha, definitely agree the b&o is the most important option! seems slightly excessive but have to admit the main reason for ordering for me was the LED light strips! Been really impressed with the b&o sound tho. Just been playing music off of an sd card ( copied all my iTunes library onto it). Had it up really loud and no sign of distortion or hissing of any sort. Seems to be great at drowning out pretty much all road / wind noise even at a moderate volume. Not had an upgraded stereo in the past but its night and day compared to the standard 8p s3 stereo. Had some dance tunes on for the drive north to keep me awake and it was handling the bass nicely!!

  7. #6
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by Sandra View Post
    Welcome to audi-sport.net. Where in Scotland are you? Thanks for sharing the info with us all. Any pics? Enjoy the car and the forum. x
    hi Sandra, thanks! ...I'm from Aberdeen

    yeah will definitely get a few photos taken and uploaded to forum next time I have a spare few mins!
    Sandra likes this.

  8. #7
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,242
    Good review - the ACC is definitely my favourite toy on the car! Had it going on the country roads in Wales this weekends and you'll be pleased to hear it works brilliantly - as long as the traffic in front of you stays there! Every time you come to a corner, the car in front obviously slows down, so your car does automatically as well, without having to touch a thing (other than change gear if needed). Obviously if the car in front is round the corner before you get there then it's not going to slow down so you have to be careful on that front :P
    Sport 2.0 TDI 150 Sportback in Scuba Blue, alcantara/leather, advanced key, audi sound system, comfort pack w/ ACC and park assist, deselect sports suspension, auto-dimming & folding door mirrors, electric lumbar support, heated seats, hold assist, non-smoking pack, side & lane assist, reversing camera, storage & luggage pack, tech pack with audi connect, tyre pressure warning, towbar, variable headlight range control, xenon light pack

  9. #8
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    East Sussex
    Posts
    462
    Hi gjonesy
    Nice spec, good to read another positive review.
    i have gone for the Interior lights as well and is a shame you can't just turn on in day in MMI settings.
    don't know if anyone knows a simple solution as a couple of people have said the same as you, hardly a important thing but nice if you could change.
    A3 sport back, Misano Red, S Line, 1.4 C.O.D. Manual, Panoramic Sunroof, Audi sound system, Folding mirrors, Interior lights pack, Non smoking, Delete Badges, Sports suspension, Hill hold & 2 year servicing & 4 year warrantee.

  10. #9
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    2
    Gjonsy51,
    Great review of your first impressions. I'm driving up from the south coast to pick up a new 140COD S line Sportback from Coventry Audi in the next couple of weeks. Would appreciate your thoughts on the hand-over service you received from them and also whether you managed to extract/were offered any freebies.

  11. #10
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Posts
    9
    Hi Fragup / Cemerson / Robcur. Thanks

    Fragup - yeah will definitely be keeping a look out for if someone works out how to enable them!

    Robcur - have to say I was treated very well at Coventry Audi. The handover took about an hour the sales person (Max Nelson) spent quite a bit of time showing me how to work the various features of the car. I bought my car via a broker online (hence the trip all the way from Scotland - Coventry!), so would imagine I got a reasonable deal. Didn't get offered any freebies unfortunately - just the usual GAP insurance, Supaguard etc which I politely declined! I also was given the cables I needed to connect my iphone to the MMI system without asking which was good as have heard a few people on here needed to have them posted out later... Good luck with getting yours, im still delighted with mine!
    Audi A3 8V Sportback, 1.6TDi S-line, Daytona Grey, Comfort Pack with ACC and parking system plus, chrome roof rails, interior light pack, fine napa leather, heated seats, SE suspension.

  12. #11
    Sandra's Avatar
    MODERATOR

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    15,487
    Quote Originally Posted by gjonesy51 View Post
    hi Sandra, thanks! ...I'm from Aberdeen

    yeah will definitely get a few photos taken and uploaded to forum next time I have a spare few mins!
    I have added you onto the Scottish Members List. For local meets, click the link below. x
    Scotland
    Audi-sport.net Lanyards & Stickers
    To find Audi-Sport-Net members with VCDS check out the MAP


  13. #12
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    2
    Thanks gjonsy51. We probably went through the same broker and achieved a similar discount, so perhaps a freebie or two is a bit optimistic. Might still try though! Max N is dealing with me too and seems an OK bloke. He's promised to send me the driver's manual etc as soon as the car arrives at the dealers, so that I can bone up on how everything works. I trust that the tyre pressures were correct when you picked yours up. Think that I might just ask for them to be checked before setting off for the south as another thread shows some confusion and seriously incorrect inflation pressures.

  14. #13
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    187
    Had the 1.6tdi courtesy car. Found it very slow compared to my 1.4tfsi. It must be some drop from an S3!
    1.4 TFSI 122ps A3 SportBack. Comfort pack, Audi sound system, Daytona grey, SD Sat Nav, S line trim. Love it!

  15. #14
    dieseldoug's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Aberdeenshire
    Posts
    240
    Gjonesy51,

    Did you not get a good deal from Aberdeen Audi or any other Scottish dealers you went down south? Or was a car readily available in the spec you were needing. Good to see another member from the area.

    Doug


    A3, 2.0 TDI, S-Line, 6 speed manual, Scuba Blue, S-Line suspension, heated/folding mirrors, privacy glass, fine nappa leather, heated seats, light/rain sensor pack, flat tyre indicator, Purchased and supplied by Aberdeen Audi

  16. #15
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    437
    I just printed off the quote from the brokers and took it to my two nearest dealers. Both were prepared to match it so I ordered it from the nearest one.
    A3 2.0TDI Sportback S Line 184 Quattro S-Tronic, Mar. 2014 Glacier white. Electric seats, sunroof, se suspension, heated folding mirrors, Reversing camera, Nappa leather, TPMS, Hold assist, Xenon plus adaptive lights with variable active range control, lane assist, Interior light pack, Technology pack, Comfort pack with ACC, park assist & parking system plus

  17. #16
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Posts
    9
    Nope - been into Aberdeen Audi before and found them very reluctant to offer any form of discount! To be fair they offered me a good trade in price for the S3 but that was about it. I was also looking at a Q3 before deciding on the A3 and tried the trick of asking them to match the broker's price, not only did they say they wouldn't match it they wouldn't offer any discount at all to even get close hence the journey to Coventry! Dundee audi is also fairly close, but they are owned by the same group (john clark) and so dont like to compete with Aberdeen. The 1.6TDi is definitely a fair step down in power, but my S3 was used and had no extras so the extra gadgets and feeling of having a brand new car is making up for it for now anyway!! Rob - we probably did - I used orangewheels and was pretty happy with the whole experience. Not noticed the tyres looking soft or anything but haven't checked either - maybe should!
    Audi A3 8V Sportback, 1.6TDi S-line, Daytona Grey, Comfort Pack with ACC and parking system plus, chrome roof rails, interior light pack, fine napa leather, heated seats, SE suspension.

  18. #17
    JohnnyM100's Avatar
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Hampshire/Surrey border
    Posts
    463
    Quote Originally Posted by cemerson View Post
    Good review - the ACC is definitely my favourite toy on the car! Had it going on the country roads in Wales this weekends and you'll be pleased to hear it works brilliantly - as long as the traffic in front of you stays there! Every time you come to a corner, the car in front obviously slows down, so your car does automatically as well, without having to touch a thing (other than change gear if needed). Obviously if the car in front is round the corner before you get there then it's not going to slow down so you have to be careful on that front :P
    Just hope the car in front doesn't miss the corner or sounds like you will follow it into the hedge?
    Enjoying my 8V

  19. #18
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,242
    Indeed, it doesn't absolve you from monitoring the situation of course, as with anything!
    Sport 2.0 TDI 150 Sportback in Scuba Blue, alcantara/leather, advanced key, audi sound system, comfort pack w/ ACC and park assist, deselect sports suspension, auto-dimming & folding door mirrors, electric lumbar support, heated seats, hold assist, non-smoking pack, side & lane assist, reversing camera, storage & luggage pack, tech pack with audi connect, tyre pressure warning, towbar, variable headlight range control, xenon light pack

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 6th May 2011, 09:37
  2. Turbo back Milltek Mini-Review
    By Spin140 in forum A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 8th May 2009, 09:08
  3. Sportback mini review
    By Japper in forum A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10th September 2005, 00:57
  4. Total clutch failure @ 8,500 miles
    By JaminBen in forum A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 23rd May 2005, 12:12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO