Using s tronic gearbox.

Jack24

Reaction score
I have a 1.8 tfsi quattro on order but have only used the s tronic gearbox on the test drive. Could anyone tell me how you use it at traffic lights, junctions, etc (especially on hills) - ie. do you keep your foot on brake or put into park/neutral and use 'hand' brake. Any help/ advice would be appreciated.

I have one of these on order too, on the test drive I just used it line a normal auto box, ie kept my foot on the brake at lights etc, dealer told me it holds the brakes for 2-3 seconds after lifting off to stop you rolling back on hills.
this said I did end up ordering hold assist though as I have been driving an auto for a few years now and worried out of habit I would just pop it into park and forget the handbrake lol

Hi Jack24. You'll find that you develop your own style very quickly when you get the car. With my 8P s-tronic I tended to pop it into neutral and hold it on the foot brake if I was going to be stationary for any length of time (e.g. traffic lights). This was because there was always the impression that there was a certain amount of drag if the car was left in gear, so selecting neutral removed any chance of clutch wear. On hills there was always the possibility of roll back, so the handbrake was used to cope with that.

With the 8V the situation is completely different. Firstly, stop-start avoids the need to pop into neutral, as there's no chance of wear when the engine is stopped. Secondly, as 97catalunya has said, there is a short 'grace period' when releasing the brakes before the car will roll, so there's plenty of time to get on the gas. I don't have the hold assist option - In fact I was advised it wasn't necessary by the salesman. I usually only pull on the parking brake when I park, and only manually release it if I'm moving the car without a belt on (e.g. in and out of the garage).

Hi Jack24