AH FabricationsEM Tuning
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By Vertigo1
  • 2 Post By Vertigo1
  • 1 Post By voorhees

Thread: Impressions from preview evening

  1. #1
    Vertigo1's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Online
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    2,486

    Impressions from preview evening

    Well I've just got back from the Listers Audi preview evening for the new A3 at Birmingham Audi.

    Have to give them credit for trying. Free food & drink, an ice sculptor doing the Audi logo, a duo of cellists and a drummer for entertainment

    As for the cars...

    They had a total of five A3s on display and for people to sit in and look around. Sadly and surprisingly, not a single S-Line among them, although many had options on to "tart" them up a bit, such as Xenons, B&O sound and so on. Only one had the full 7" high-res MMI screen which I found surprising.

    I won't drone on about every little detail but instead sum it up by saying I love it! Was the first time I've ever seen one in the flesh, let alone sat in one so I wasn't entirely sure what to expect but I've been wowed by it.

    The exterior certainly does look much better in the flesh than in photos, as others have said. It still does look more like a facelifted 8P than a totally new model but that's no bad thing really. As for the interior - wow. This was where I had most reservations as it's drawn a lot of criticism generally but I love it. It has the feel of a much bigger car. The interior looks far more polished and professional, it "envelops" you more and feels more solid. They had a car there with the alcantara/leather sports seats (which I've ordered) and it was amazingly comfortable. The dash looks superb with the new colour high-res DIS in the centre and the 7" MMI popup screen looks gorgeous.

    Overally I'm very happy and now can't wait for mine to be delivered!
    Last edited by Vertigo1; 13th September 2012 at 23:01.
    suzannec likes this.
    Daytona Grey Audi A3 2.0TDI 150 S-Line with Tech Pack, Comfort Pack, Interior Light Pack, Alcantara/Leather seats, B&O sound, DAB radio, Folding/dimming mirrors

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    74
    I was there as well! Also disappointed at the lack of s-lines. Overall very impressed though, going to be a long wait until November though. Booked a test drive on Saturday. Do you know when yours is arriving yet?

  4. #3
    Vertigo1's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Online
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    2,486
    Not a clue really. Last I heard they reckoned it would be at the dealer by the end of this month but frankly I think I have more chance of winning the lottery
    Daytona Grey Audi A3 2.0TDI 150 S-Line with Tech Pack, Comfort Pack, Interior Light Pack, Alcantara/Leather seats, B&O sound, DAB radio, Folding/dimming mirrors

  5. #4
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    106
    How exciting. Roll on January for me! I'm still waiting to hear about my test drive after a week!!
    Audi A3 1.6 TDI S-Line Daytona Grey
    Ordered
    15 August 2012 with Heated Seats, Electric Lumber Support, Folding Wing Mirrors and Privacy Glass. Arrived 30 November 2012.

  6. #5
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    IOW
    Posts
    4
    Hi Vertigo1
    It is nice to hear your opinion of the new A3 and I can't wait for mine to arrive now.
    Having seen the photos of the new Golf I was thinking I may have made a mistake but you have put my mind at rest.
    Cheers

  7. #6
    N8
    N8's Avatar
    Kowalski Details

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Salford, Manchester
    Posts
    17,110

    My Social Networking

    Add N8 on Facebook Visit N8's Instagram Channel
    I had all these same thoughts when I saw it in May in Austria, I don't listen to what the WHOPPERS on this forum have to say!


    "Will these wheel fit my car PM's will not be replied to, do you research & use the SEARCH button"

    Detailing - Wheel Refurbishment - Shark Performance Software - VagbremTechnic Dealer - OEM Retrofitting - Remus - V-Maxx - Goodridge

  8. #7
    slade777's Avatar
    4th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    763

    Impressions from preview evening

    I loved the interior when I sat in one a few weeks ago, the quality is unrivalled! All the reviews have hit the nail on the head by saying its the interior of a far bigger more luxurious car. The exterior I wasn't overly keen on but I only saw a sport model. Hopefully the 2.0tdi I'm test driving on Saturday will be Sline however I doubt it.

    Good to hear your opinion and enjoy the car when it arrives!
    Current:
    A3 Black Edition 2.0 TDI 140
    .


  9. #8
    Vertigo1's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Online
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    2,486
    Another way to put is that, when I returned to my car to drive home, it felt "dated". As you can see from my sig, it's a fairly loaded 8P3 and yet the interior just felt "old" after sitting in the 8V. The game has moved on.
    slade777 and suzannec like this.
    Daytona Grey Audi A3 2.0TDI 150 S-Line with Tech Pack, Comfort Pack, Interior Light Pack, Alcantara/Leather seats, B&O sound, DAB radio, Folding/dimming mirrors

  10. #9
    voorhees's Avatar
    Moderator

    Status
    Online
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Leafy Warwickshire
    Posts
    14,616
    I viewed one today with the salesman telling me the details,he knew I wasn't buying it but was very helpful.
    The screen is very James Bondish the way it comes up out of the dash,also the way you can write with your finger on the nav control button to write addresses/postcodes rather than using the old way,the way you can change lighting and different stuff on the car was clever also you can have the handbook uploaded to it for help.
    I did say I wasn't smitten with the climate controls but he was saying Audi are wanting to have less clutter so less buttons,afterwards I got into my ten year old car and it has less buttons so maybe they have that a bit wrong.
    The interior was sleek and had some dodgy trim which he said can be changed,the exterior is very angular for me and the grill seems to have gone south in my eyes it was horrible.
    I did laugh at the poor guy showing me the car as his iPhone music started playing on the cars system and it was all rap music swearing to which he said it was his sons music lol

  11. #10
    A3_Black_Edition's Avatar
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Weston-super-mare
    Posts
    415
    I seen the same five cars at Bristol Audi preview last week. It was ok but I wasn't blown away with it at all. Still looks like a blown up A1. I am sure it will grow on me and the s-line and S3 will look good. The hospitality was good though!

    Cheers,
    Si
    Currently Driving - 2012 White 3 Door A3 170 Quattro Black Edition with loads of toys! - It's here and I love it!

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Preview evening
    By Vertigo1 in forum New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd September 2012, 19:51
  2. what rods to buy n where from????? might even upgrade my turbo too
    By AARON77 in forum A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 27th July 2011, 11:11
  3. smoke from exhaust even when warm
    By drewbee in forum A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 25th February 2010, 01:20
  4. Good Evening from Ipswich
    By Olaf in forum The Welcome Section
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 23rd April 2009, 16:59
  5. Evening from Newbie
    By andyfree in forum A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th February 2004, 22:31

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO