Power Supply Unit - Sony VCR

Joshie

Reaction score
Does anyone know who'd be able to repair a PSU from a Sony VCR without it costing more than a new VCR. The unit has been removed from the VCR.

Perhaps Dan (Toasty) is the man?

Have a search around on the web using the model number of the VCR, there are usually sites that will tell you which parts are prone to going etc and sell kits of these parts.

Normally a failed PSU will be caused by capacitors going resistive, dry joints, on board fuses blown etc You stand a half decent chance of fixing it just be resoldering any joints that look dodgy.

Can you see any visible damage, burning etc on the board? Does it smell burnt?

HTH,

Jon.

Actually a bit of black dust around the jonts of the 400V 68 uF capacitor - just thought this was general old age but perhaps a replacement may be worth a try. Think even I could attenpt this. I have a soldering iron /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif

I'm just a layman but the circuit looks fairly simple although I cant see whats under the tin cover (said I was a layman /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif)

Thanks for the advice Jon

Tend to agree with Jon.
Judging by the 400v cap it sounds like a switched mode psu, which usually have on board fuses, check these first.
If anything looks burnt or charred then it probably needs replacing.

Give the circuit board a quick wash down with the Isoprop alcohol you have left from the MAF cleaning and resolder any joints that don't look shiny.

I could surely fix it for you, or if it's that important then even build you a replacement.

I assume it's an expensive video? If it were mine and not too expensive I'd probably just get a new one. (I once spent ages repairing a TV for my parents... a few months later the tube went!!)

If it's quite old, then chances are something else will fail soon.

....but if you want me to take a look, you know my address by now! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Thanks Dan,