Work advice needed!

AlexGSi2000

VCDS Map User
Reaction score
Right - bit of a strange one to post on a forum, but after a little advice.

I work for a small-ish company, with two sites - 130 miles apart.
I do the ICT for the whole of the company (8 servers, 70 computers & 130 users)
The site I work from is based in Merseyside, a few other admin based roles are at the other site (HR.etc)

My question / issue is about working relationships between a particular department based at the other site.
The two staff in question work in the same (small) department and have only been working for the company for 6 months, one member of that department is a manager, the other an assistant.

As I am the "one man band" as it where covering ICT, more often than not I am very busy, often working early, late & weekends.
I feel that as a professional I provide a very good level of skill and support to the company, having completed various training and gained a few qualifications (Microsoft based, Cisco.etc)

As a person I feel I am very approachable (trying not to make this sound like a CV!) with a good attitude.
I feel I always have time for other employees, provide robust & adequate solutions for problems & questions.etc

From day one, I have felt fairly uneasy about these two staff in a certain department, they have the attitude of "they know best".etc
I have always done my utmost to cater for their needs for a department (they are known for being quite demanding) - they have much more ICT equipment than any other department.

My issue is around that department and myself - from my perspective im getting the feeling they think I am effectively rubbish with ICT.
They are constantly suggesting things to the CEO around ICT that do not make sense in a business environment, i.e requesting a colour printer for their department (even with access to a shared colour laser) and specifying the cheapest one available in Asda.