House buying / mortgage advice.

AlexGSi2000

VCDS Map User
Reaction score
Morning,

After abit of advice really as I am completely new to house buying / mortgages.

The scenario is, myself and by girlfriend are still living with our own parents - I am 24 and Rachel is 26, I have really wanted to move out for the past year - Rachel much longer as girls tend to flock the nest a lot sooner.

We have been together for 5 years, two years ago we decided it would probably be a good idea if we started putting some money aside for the future.

At this point in time we have enough deposit for a 2/3 bedroom place - originally we have been looking at a modern apartment/flat just outside of Liverpool for around the £80-95k mark.
We have found a few properties that have caught our eye - one in particular stands out, as these apartments where built a few years ago, they are ready to live in (fitted kitchen.etc) with little work.

Our aim is to get ourselves onto the property ladder via an apartment like the one above, live there with minimal outgoings for around 5 years and then move on into a house.

As we are both fairly keen to get ourselves in somewhere soon - I am going to start looking around for mortgages (I'm booking a slot with the adviser at my bank today).

I have a question which I could do with some help on - basically Rachel is currently employed but covering maternity, this cover comes to an end early December - would this hinder our chances of a joint application for a mortgage?
As she will still be working when I go and meet with the mortgage adviser - can I just state that she is employed and leave it at that?
If not - I may take the mortgage out in my name only - can Rachel be added at a later date?

I know I have probably asked a few amateur questions on this! Would appreciate anyone's advice....
Thanks!