Wish me luck - tomorrow I start a 2174 mile bike ride - the 2012 Tour de France route

jcs356

Brum brum
Reaction score
Yep, I set off from Liege in Belgium tomorrow to cycle the entire route of the 2012 Tour de France – all 2174 miles of it – in only 20 days. That’s exactly the same number of days as the professionals will take. And no, I’m not a professional cyclist, just a mad amateur. The route includes 25 significant mountain climbs (over 18,000m of climbing), topping out at the 2115m Col du Tourmalet in the Pyrenees which features on stage 16 together with 3 other climbs known as the ‘circle of death’ to give over 5,500 metres of climbing and 123 miles on that day alone. It’s been estimated that over the ride I’ll burn 198,000 calories which is the equivalent to 707 Mars Bars or 404 Big Macs.

I’ve been training very hard and have covered 4326 miles since 6th January and I’m probably the fittest I’ve ever been, but I’m still wondering quite what I’ve let myself in for. We spend the first week in Belgium and Northern France, so whatever the weather is doing here, it’s also doing there - i.e. raining. Then we travel down through the Alps, across the south of France, spend three days in the Pyrenees before heading back up to Paris to finish on the Champs Elysees on Sunday 15th July.

I’m raising money for the William Wates Memorial Trust who fund a variety of youth projects. If anyone is feeling generous and would like to sponsor me then drop me a PM and I’ll send you a link to my fundraising page.

Route2012.jpg

More info here: Tour De Force

The very best of luck to you Jason :thumbsup:
i will be watching the Tour de France as i do most years, so i know how mad you must be!! :salute:

Thanks everyone. Just about got everything packed. Biggest problem is all the energy drink, gels and recovery drink for 20 days in the saddle - hence my bag weighs a tonne! Just got to get it to Liege now!