Fuel Additives and equivalents to Shell V Power or better?

G

_G_

All the local garages are out of v power and people here are still panic buying fuel (not as bad as yesterday but still queuing)... there was even a punch up at the pumps... but that all aside...

I need some 99 RON fuel... and the only option seems to be to get the standard shell fuel and add some wynn's petrol treatment to raise the RON rating... would that be worth it? I've never tried it before but a few thoughts are: it works out £4.99 for the wynn's alone... add to that the full tank of fuel.

Or is there something better out there? BP Ultimate (that old chestnut).

Any thoughts or ideas appreciated.

I take it you have a high performance audi? Tesco sell 99 ron, i though Vpower was 97 ron anyways?

pretty sure v power is 99 ron... but anyhow... remapped 2.0 tfsi... 240bhp... and it really doesnt like standard unleaded... burns it much quicker and IMHO i have noticed the engine is less responsive (its in the owners manual too i.e. higher ron will give more benefits)... always preferred the v power to the tesco 99 as the v power seems to give more responsivveness compared with tesco 99... have found that tesco 99 has always been a bit of a lucky dip i.e. sometimes they have a good batch of fuel and i swear it is like having v power in the tank... but there is too much inconsistency for me... other times it is just tesco 99 and nothing special... well that all aside... i ended up getting a bottle of redex 0-60 octane booster and adding it to a tank of shell fuel saver... the bottle says that it boosts the octane by about 1.5-2 ron (a much more reasonable claim than wynn's who claim up to 5 ron increase but the wynns is half the price)...

end product... shell fuel save (95) and redex (96.5-97 ron). feels good. die cameron die??

Just buy it and use it

I know this wont apply to you, but i always put 300ml or so of 2 stroke oil in with every other fill up of diesel.