ALLROAD INTO AN A4

brownie 25

Reaction score
hi lads.
would anyone know is there much hassle in putting a engine from an allroad 2.5 tdi v6 into a a4 2.5tdi v6.
are they exactly the same engine,thy both have same engine code (ake).

tks.

They are the same base engines bar a few differences... The a4 will have twin intercooler/the allroad will have front mounted intercooler, the intake pipe is a different shape compared with the a4 and the maps in the ECU are different...

does that mean that i will have to take the ecu from the allroad or would the original one need to be remapped in the a4

does that mean that i will have to take the ecu from the allroad or would the original one need to be remapped in the a4

I'm no expert on this and I may be wrong, but I've played around with engines & ECUs from the Peugeot Citroen range some years back:

It didn't take me long to realise that the 1.9i petrol engine in the ZX Volcane (hot-hatch) was expensive, and its ECU (mounted towards the front and easily damaged in a shunt) was even more expensive (I was quoted £200 secondhand, and even then only when one came into the yard). However the Peugeot 406 SRi (a popular rep-mobile) also had a similar 1.9i petrol engine and its ECU was a mere £10 secondhand with about 50 to choose from.

Following a shunt in my Citroen rally car which the engine survived but the ECU didn't, I quickly bought one from a Peugeot breaker and stuck it in. The result was a slightly different power and torque curve, which I could feel whilst driving, but everything ran fine and I never did bother to change it again!