A4 TDi cuting out!

leerally

Reaction score
Hello all! Newbie here. Quite impressed with the help offered on here. Ive got a 90bhp 1995 A4 tdi with about 320,000 on the clock. Yes you read that right. Its the kind of car VAG-AUDI should buy back from myself for research purposes. Ive had it about 8 years and its been the best car ive ever owned, by far. Original engine and turbo, never rebuilt, various cambelts later, and on its 4rd gearbox. Ive recently had a problem ive never experienced before though. My engine fires up on the first kick as it always has, but now then immediately cuts out after starting. This will happen about twice before it will stay on, then run faultlessley afterwards. Makes no difference on how often ive been driving during the day, temperature, or the start and stops ive made etc. Sometimes this problem will show, sometimes it wont. Am not too technically adept, but i know a fair bit about maintenance. All i know is it could be one of many things. I dont cane it, i ONLY run BP-Ultimate or V-power diesel in it, and quality engine oils, so it hardly smokes, and power feels normal. Any help would be most welcome!

Can't answer your problem, but I must say 4 gearboxes in 320K sound like a lot - they don't seem to be lasting long on average.

Sounds like air is seeping in to the delivery system somewhere, check the unions, and check the diesel filter (has it been changed recently?) Also check the water seperator (not sure where it is on your car normally in the bottom of the fuel filter housing)

And behold! It was the key! Apparently because of its age, the coded/chipped keys' ability starts to fade. The ECU struggles to recognise the key on start up, so thinks the car is being stolen, and shuts down. Not bad for 1996 technology i have to say. So a replacement cost me £20 from a local key cutter today. With codes reinstalled on a new key. Not bad considering the £90 AUDI quoted me to do the same!:faint: