Biodiesel

Biggles

Reaction score
I have been making & using Biodiesel for about a year now. I use my B100 in my Pug 406 2.1tdi. Done about 15000 miles now.

There are loads of forums about the making and using of BD. You will find all you need to know about it in them.

I pay my tax as I am a licenced producer, and it works out about 36p/l tax paid.

I bought an Allroad 2.5tdi yesterday.. As yet I have not used my BD in it, but am told it should be fine.

I did see in one thread that people were having trouble with B100. On the course I went on I was told to introduce BD in stages to get to B100. BD is a very good solvent, and in the first 1-3000 miles it will clear ALL the sh*t out of your fuel tank and system. If you want to know more about BD, I'll be happy to answer what I can.

Oh! did I mention I make the equipment to make BD :)

Biggles

Well I have just started looking for a local dealer (South Wales) for Bio-Diesel..... and the only dealer charges almost £1.00p/l of Bio!!!!
Surely ...if you can offer it for less than 40p/l then this dude is taking the ****?????..... even though he states on his website that this is the cheapest possible price he can offer?
Click below......
http://www.sundancerenewables.org.uk/biodp/index.html
Click on Price Comparator?

Why is this guys price so expensive?????

Not really.

He will be charging vat on his sales, and don't forget the vat is also on the fuel duty hes is already paying to HMCR.

He needs to make a profit, and if he is selling he needs to maintain accurate measuring & quality controls, all of which put up the price, and if he is producing over 5000L per year there are very expensive environmental on costs.

Lastly my feedstock I get for free, all I have to do is collect it. My on costs are the chemicals to make it, time and electricity, about 10p/l then the other cost is 27.1 p/l to HMCR.