Chris NottAH Fabrications
    staylowmovefast

Status

After claying I should........???

Hello Gents,
    Going to treat my other half to a good claying at the weekend. Never clayed a car before and am a bit confused as to what I should do afterwards. Been reading here that you should polish AND wax after claying. I am new to this detailing game and I thought polishing WAS waxing??? Can someone please explain? Can I "just" wax it aftetwards or do I polish as well (if they are different?). The car is dark santorin blue(pearlacent/metallic) The paint is in good nick but has never been clayed. I do however wash and wax it every weekend. It is 10 years old. Any advice ( without confusing me, I like to keep things simple as possible)would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks gents!
    Last edited by phoenixv6quattro; 10th November 2009 at 03:13. Reason: Add txt

2. # ADS
    ADS

4th Gear

Status
    In simple terms mate, claying removes any bonded contaminents eg tree sap and small tar spots plus previous applied wax. You will be surprised how good your paints feels and looks after this.

Polishing is an abrasive process that removes any swirl marks and scratches.

Wax puts a protective layer on your paintwork to repel water and road grime.

Be careful though, once you start getting into this it becomes very addictive, lol.
    3.0 Tdi Q A4 Avant S-Line Dolphin Grey
    RNS-E retrofitted

OCD clean

Status
    Quote Originally Posted by rowdyboy View Post
    In simple terms mate, claying removes any bonded contaminents eg tree sap and small tar spots plus previous applied wax. You will be surprised how good your paints feels and looks after this.

Polishing is an abrasive process that removes any swirl marks and scratches.

Wax puts a protective layer on your paintwork to repel water and road grime.

Be careful though, once you start getting into this it becomes very addictive, lol.