After claying I should........???

phoenixv6quattro

staylowmovefast
Reaction score
Hello Gents,
Going to treat my other half to a good claying at the weekend. Never clayed a car before and am a bit confused as to what I should do afterwards. Been reading here that you should polish AND wax after claying. I am new to this detailing game and I thought polishing WAS waxing??? Can someone please explain? Can I "just" wax it aftetwards or do I polish as well (if they are different?). The car is dark santorin blue(pearlacent/metallic) The paint is in good nick but has never been clayed. I do however wash and wax it every weekend. It is 10 years old. Any advice ( without confusing me, I like to keep things simple as possible)would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks gents!

Last edited:
In simple terms mate, claying removes any bonded contaminents eg tree sap and small tar spots plus previous applied wax. You will be surprised how good your paints feels and looks after this.

Polishing is an abrasive process that removes any swirl marks and scratches.

Wax puts a protective layer on your paintwork to repel water and road grime.

Be careful though, once you start getting into this it becomes very addictive, lol.

In simple terms mate, claying removes any bonded contaminents eg tree sap and small tar spots plus previous applied wax. You will be surprised how good your paints feels and looks after this.

Polishing is an abrasive process that removes any swirl marks and scratches.

Wax puts a protective layer on your paintwork to repel water and road grime.

Be careful though, once you start getting into this it becomes very addictive, lol.

Is correct, i started off with a claybar kit from meg's and it's gone on from there. I am now a member of detailing world, and i have over a 1000 pounds worth of gear including a tub of wax which cost me £100 :faint: Be carefull it's great fun but can be very expensive forcing her indoors to pull a face. :hubbahubba: