cheap wax

kev_a3

Reaction score
ok, im new to the world of detailing. a quick wash, shammy and wax is all im accoustomed to(excuse the spelling)

anyway ive been using the cheap halfords wax for grey/silver cars on my lava grey a3 for a while now and im amazed every time at the results...so today i toddle off to halfords to buy some of the amazing Zymol i keep reading about..so 10 minutes later im walking out of halfords with some Zymol cleaner wax and a knowing grin

And the results are... yes you guessed it...the missus has just drove off in a shiny new looking car that i know will be turning heads. Great...but...with the Halfords wax not the Zymol wax....why cos its crap(my opinion and obviosly not the exact zymol wax i keep reading about)

:confused: has anyone here used this wax before and what do you think of it?? (zymol cleaner wax & halfords colour polish)
:confused: what products do you recommend??

any advise is appreciated....

The Cleaner Wax is the about the lowliest product Zymol produce... and yes, it isn't great IMHO, particularly on lighter coloured cars. To get good results on lighter colours with wax requires a spend of at least £164 on Concours or above in my book... which means most people will prefer a lower cost sealant based system. If you check out this thread, which is all about achieving the perfect finish on silver and other light colours, you'll see what I mean...

http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/showthread.php?t=36481

Without any shadow of doubt, at a sensible price point, you will not beat the Jeffs Werkstatt Acrylic System on silver. It's what I prefer on my own car, a silver Seat Leon. :icon_thumright:

thanks for reply....but as Lava grey is very dark grey pearl(almost black)would this still be the best system for me??

thanks in advance