Sky InsuranceChris Nott

Thread: Clay Bar

Neutral

Status

Question Clay Bar

Hi

I like to look after my car (well the exterior anyway) and I have learnt loads through this site.

I do the wash, polish and wax every few months but after all this effort I can still feel tiny bits of muck on the surface. I've never used a clay bar before and from reading what other people say about them I know I'm missing out!

What make of bar and lubricant does everyone use and is there a partivular one that is better than the rest?

Cheers

2. # ADS
    ADS

6th Gear

Status
    just a cheapie meguires gold-class quik detailer and claybar kit from halfords here. Does me fine, and it feels smooth afterwards.

MiT
    Work Hard, Play harder!!

Status
    Quote Originally Posted by madvw
    just a cheapie meguires gold-class quik detailer and claybar kit from halfords here. Does me fine, and it feels smooth afterwards.
    Thats what i used when i did it for the first time. I wound recommend it. Its mild its good for beginners.
    A3 Sportback 2.0 TDI S-Line
    Amalfi White || Comfort Pack || Audi Sound System 10 Speakers || Interior Light Pack || Elec Lumber Support || Sat Nav || Non Smoking pack

Boydie
    poor boys clay bar is very good too - lifts grime and tar a lot easier than the megs clay bar

check out polishedbliss or cleanyourcar websites for other options!

1st Gear

Status
    Sonus green very mild good to start out on.For lub i use Poorboys spray & wipe, very lagre bottle, you can never have enough, even buy it buy the gallon & use it for drying & wiping down.
    S-Line

1st Gear

Status
    I bought Sonus grey by accident should have ordered green - Grey is a bit harder than green. Which might come in more useful when i use it on my fathers car......(vw passat taxi in one hell of a state)

Megs last touch quick detailer - by the gallon - dilute it with water 1:1.
    And use it to aid drying - excellent stuff - and smells nice too.