Best way of getting road salt off your car?

Mart77

Reaction score
Total noob to car cleaning :s in the past I've mostly gone to the local scratch and kinda wash place.

anyway since getting my Audi and joining up on here I've started getting really ****** off with the state of the car due to the weather. So my question is whats the best way to wash the car with all this salt over it??, I'm a little worried about the damage it could leave.

You can try snow foam, I've never used it myself but I know a lot of people do in this sort of weather.

Jet wash is good too as that can loosen a lot of dirt.

Last edited:
Yeah I was thinking that was probably the best option

Do you have a pressure washer?? I haven't recommended any products as there are so many out there with lovers and haters of all.
If so, opinion is divided here on wet or dry application of snow foam. This what I do with great results on a glacier white car.

1) Jet wash it first with water to remove the top film or the really ground in areas.
1a) Spray Tar-X or Korrosol onto panels where you can see 'spotting', DON't let this dry, jet off once you see it re-acting.
2) Snow foam it, leave it 5mins or so, try to not let it dry.
3) Jet wash it all over. Repeat if it's really, really dirty.
4) Wash with a good quality mitt, lambswool etc.. with the 2 bucket method, invest in a grit guard for one bucket(the rinse one), or both to reduce rubbing the grit back in
5) Jet wash to rinse off
6) Dry with a large drying towel, Kent or Wooly mammoth. (before I dry off each panel I spray a diluted mix of demon shine on each panel that helps disperse the water to aid drying, also leaves a decent streak free shine if you can't be bothered to wax afterwards)
7) Polish, wax and seal

Without polish or waxing, takes me about 1hr to get our current G.White Megane RS looking superb.