Sky InsuranceChris Nott
    In awe of VCDS

Status

Silver roof rails need some attention - photo's included

Hi folks,

I'm a newbie that's just bought an '07 A3 Sportback, which has got the silver roof rails.
    The problem is that they look waterstained and sort of flat and patchy. I gave one of them a quick polish with some Zymol I had in the garage, but it didn't really do much. I also asked at Audi and they said they didn't have anything special to clean them with.

Does anyone know if these are lacquered or anything? I've got some Autosol metal polish, but I haven't been brave enough to use it in case I ruin them.

Is there anything safe I can use to get these looking less patchy. I'm not even sure if they should be shiny or a more dull aluminium finish. The last photo below shows the end I gave a quick polish with the Zymol.

Any advice would be gratefully received.

Hopefully you can see what I mean from these pics:

Now: 2010 A3 SB S-Line Black Edition 2.0TDi 140CR. Panther Black
    Retro'd: Black S-Line badges | Private Plate | Come home lights activated | Fogs as corning lights activated | Hill hold assist activated | TPMS (via VCDS) activated | 3.5" s/s tailpipe | LED interior lighting.

Gone: 2007 A3 SB Sport TDI 140. Dolphin Grey

2. # ADS
    ADS

5th Gear

Status
    Mines an 05 and apart from a few light scratches they are in perfect condition, no watermarking like yours just shiny! You could try a fine wire wool, we use it on glass to remove light scratches so should be ok on polished metal.
    E93 335i

Previous
    2010 R36 Saloon in Biscay Blue
    2008 Red S3
    2005 A3 3.2 quattro S-line Sportback dsg Avus silver
    2005 A3 3.2 quattro Sport Sportback dsg Black

4th Gear

Status
    DONT USE WIRE WOOL!!!
    Use some Werkstat prime, it'll clean them up like new. Google it to find your local stockist.
    3.0 Tdi Q A4 Avant S-Line Dolphin Grey
    RNS-E retrofitted

In awe of VCDS

Status