Silver roof rails need some attention - photo's included

danb986

In awe of VCDS
Reaction score
Hi folks,

I'm a newbie that's just bought an '07 A3 Sportback, which has got the silver roof rails.
The problem is that they look waterstained and sort of flat and patchy. I gave one of them a quick polish with some Zymol I had in the garage, but it didn't really do much. I also asked at Audi and they said they didn't have anything special to clean them with.

Does anyone know if these are lacquered or anything? I've got some Autosol metal polish, but I haven't been brave enough to use it in case I ruin them.

Is there anything safe I can use to get these looking less patchy. I'm not even sure if they should be shiny or a more dull aluminium finish. The last photo below shows the end I gave a quick polish with the Zymol.

Any advice would be gratefully received.

Hopefully you can see what I mean from these pics:

Photo052.jpg

Photo050.jpg

Photo051.jpg

Mines an 05 and apart from a few light scratches they are in perfect condition, no watermarking like yours just shiny! You could try a fine wire wool, we use it on glass to remove light scratches so should be ok on polished metal.

DONT USE WIRE WOOL!!!
Use some Werkstat prime, it'll clean them up like new. Google it to find your local stockist.

There seems to be a choice between Werkstat Prime Strong, Acrylic or Carnauba. I was thinking of the Strong, but as it's a fairly large bottle I'd like to use it on the rest of the car too. Which do you think would be best suited to my needs? The descriptions are almost identical on the websites.
Also, I've got a complete newbie question :blush: - I usually use Zymol to polish the car, would I use this instead, or do I need to Zymol on top of the Werkstat Prime?

I actually looked at mine close up this morning and tbh there is some slight oxidizing on the rails, however nowhere near as bad as yours. I used some fine wire wool and it brought it up lovely.