1988 5000 CS Turbo

• Thread starter imported_ericsobocinski
  • Start date
I

imported_ericsobocinski

hello all, this is my first time to the forum. i found a pretty good deal it seems on a 1988 Audi 5000 CS Turbo. The body is clean, no rust (big for wisconsin) and the interior is heated leather, and in overall great shape. The only problem is that there is no compression in one of the cylinders. i am going to go back and put a tablespoon of oil in there and see if there is any compression. im new to this whole audi scene so i have to ask how hard is it to pull the head off of one of these? im pretty mechanically inclined and have all the tools and equiptment necessary for most anything. im used to working on ford's and dsm's. im hoping its just a head problem. any input on the car and how hard it is to pull the head off of one of these would be greatly appreciated! thanks in advance for any help i might get.

eric.

Hi Eric, get yourself a Haynes manual. It is pretty easy to pull the head, everything is accessible from the top (except the inlet and exhaust manifold bolts...). take off the tappet cover and you will find 12 head bolts under there that use a star socket. I am assuming of course that the 5000 CS turbo used the 5 cylinder 2.2? In South Africa we called it the 500Turbo (same motor). You will obviously need to get a gasket set from Audi (should include head gasket, tappet cover gasket, rubber end seals for the camshaft, inlet and exhaust gaskets, throttle body to inlet gasket, valve stem seals, maybe one of two other items). fault could be caused by a leaking head gasket? if you like send a private message and i can give more info.