Help Wiring Rear Speaker & SUB

haider

Reaction score
HELP Wiring Rear Speakers
Hey I'm completely new to this stuff.
I've got a 57 plate 1.9 TDI 5DR A3 as my first car.

I've noticed it doesn't have rear speakers It has the Chorus Headunit. Yeah I figured it was the basic cheap model which sucks
Now I wanted to connect some rear midrange and tweeters on the back doors. Firstly I wanted to know if there is wiring there ( did audi put it in?)
Secondly how would I do it?

Could I add rear bose sub and speakers cheap from ebay OR could I buy a whole bose set and replace all speakers?

I want to also add a iPod Kit for it but not sure what is good and compatible since I don't want to pay Audi £££ for a 30min job.

Help

Cheers Haider.

No there is no wiring as the rears run off the amp inside the sub, and I'm guessing you don't have a sub. Yes, retrofitting the Bose setup would actually make sense as there are plenty on ebay, but you need to ensure you get the wiring loom as the whole car needs to be rewired. An easier job would be putting in the non Bose sub as far less wiring needed. Or getting one of my stealth subs which uses a 4channel Alpine amp which would run the rears.
For IPOD all you need is an xcarlink or Dension ICELink, about £50-£70.

I don't think I will need a sub I just wanted to fit rear speakers and tweeters since they are empty =\ they have to be connected via amp?

You definately need a sub, that's why they fit one to every A3 as standard, rears actually add nothing to the sound, just rearfill or for the benefit of rear passengers.
The HU has no speaker output for the rears (just the fronts) so you have to amp the rears.

Hey Haider

Without hijacking your post, just to let you know that I've just upgraded all my Concert HU and have a 2 month old Xcarlink + bluetooth kit for sale if interested.
Also, I cant emphasize enough how the addition of a sub improves the music.

Rich

How much?

Hey Haider