Rear speakers in A3 buzzing??

john_mcconville

Reaction score
Hi,

I've just got a 2000 audi A3, it came with an Alpine ipod head unit, but when the ignition is on I get a bad buzz out of the rear speakers. The local ICEman shop tells me its because the rear speakers are active and that I'd need to either simply disconnect them, or replace them with new speakers. Does anyone know if this is right?

I've no real knowledge of speakers etc.. but I'd have thought there would have been an easier solution?

Any adbvice would be much appreciated, cheers..john

You need to rewire the rear speakers to the HU. It's not the speakers at fault but the puny Audi amp driving them. The amp is inside the tupperware sub enclosure in the cubbyhole in the boot and also drives the sub, it's a piece of garbage (see below) as is the wiring to it and will always be likely to induce alternator whine & interference due to lack of proper screening. Plus it's only 2 x 20w whereas the Alpine will be kicking out at least 2-3 times that power so keeping it just gives you a total imbalance between fronts and rears.
OEMAmp.jpg

Hi Andymac cheers for that. If I understand you right I need to disconnect the rear speakers from the head unit, then run new speaker wire from the speaker ouputs on the HU back to the speakers? presumably you can simply attach this new speaker wire directly to the existing speakers.

If I can get the trim off I'll have a go at that. Strange the ICEMAN shop guy didnt suggest this. Cheers!

Yes that's right, "although disconnect the rear speakers from the HU" should read disconnect the rear feed to the rear amp, you can then reconnect the feed to the sub pre-out on the HU and then jack the sub level up in an attempt to provide some bass.
You can connect the new wires directly to the speakers or if you don't mind losing the sub then you can pick up the feed to the rears from the sub connector which saves pulling the rear panels off.