Installing Sony Mex-BT5k into A3

LT Smash

Reaction score
Hey people

First time poster here.

Got myself a second hand '03 A3 (absolutely lovely car)

And am looking to put a Sony MEX BT5000 into it replacing the Audi Concert radio that is in there at present. I got the Sony already and also have the removal keys for the concert radio. I realised today that I need a Facia panel and was told by my local Car Audio shop that I needed a FP-18-00 (I cant put in the link cause i havent made two posts) The shop tried the one for 03 Audi's an onwards but it didnt work as my car is an early 03 and thus needs the older Facia panel.

So is this all I need to install this radio into the A3 or am I missing something? Are there any online step by step tutorials for installing this specific radio into an a3? Has anyone on here done so?

Thanks for your help

regards
Luke

Cheers for the reply AndyMac, is it a complicated process, I have no experience so should I just leave it to the pro's and pay them the sixty quid or whatever that he's asking for?

Do it yourself, that way you know it's been done properly.
For £60 most installers know very little about the peculiarities on the Audi systems so you could end up with issues.

Cheers Andy, the problem is I know very little about the peculiarities of Audi :)

I'll order the antenna amp adapter and RCA input adapter now anyway.

Also is their any irish shops, either land based or online where I can get the above can anyone tell me?

edit: I got it off http://www.incarexpress.co.uk/ who also deliver from ireland to ireland.

The parts came from incarexpress, even though the facia plate still hasnt arrived I decided to check if I could fit the parts together and maybe even get the radio working.
I came up against a few problems and have taken some pictures.

First things first a part (picture A) that arrived with the pc9-404 smart lead didnt fit as there is no where to put it on the sony radio.
Pictue A