Chris NottMonster Motorsport
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    croydon
    Posts
    42

    Opinions requested please

    Just trying to ascertain if this is considered a good idea or not. Please let me have your views.

    The fuses are standed size replacements with an accessory tab.
    They enable fitted of low consumption accessories without the need to cut wires and access the rear of fuse box etc. Seem a good idea to me!

    The accessory tab is fused at 7.5amps.


    web page

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    croydon
    Posts
    42

    Re: Opinions requested please

    Sorry guys - I see the link does not work. I will have another go later.

  4. #3
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    croydon
    Posts
    42

    Re: Opinions requested please


  5. #4
    Anito's Avatar
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Chester
    Posts
    429

    Re: Opinions requested please

    [ QUOTE ]
    Here we go - trying again

    http://photos1.blogger.com/blogger/6...0/IMG_1118.jpg

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Have a 4th go [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]

  6. #5
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    croydon
    Posts
    42

    Re: Opinions requested please

    It works on my machine!!!

    I will try again.

    Thanks for letting me know.

  7. #6
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    croydon
    Posts
    42

    Re: Opinions requested please

    OK - I give up!!!

    Just go to

    www.accessafuse.com

    and have a look.

    I would still be interested to hear a view or two.

  8. #7
    imported_craigyjp
    Guest

    Re: Opinions requested please

    I can just imagine Audi opening up the fuse box and seeing that.

    I like it, would have used an insulated terminal myself for the demo, but a good idea. Saves a load of time if you know which fues are switched or permanent live.

    Craig

  9. #8
    Moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    World of my own
    Posts
    9,813

    Re: Opinions requested please

    Yes, I think the old piggyback connector offers a slightly more subtle/neater approach

  10. #9
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    croydon
    Posts
    42

    Re: Opinions requested please

    Still looking for more opinions.

    www.accessafuse.com

    Thanks

  11. #10
    arthurfuxake's Avatar
    Controversial & Contradictive

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,306

    Re: Opinions requested please

    Malcolm, which a4 have you got? I've got the B6, and I can't see there being enough space between the fuse and the fuse box cover to have the "blade" and a spade crimp.

  12. #11
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    croydon
    Posts
    42

    Re: Opinions requested please

    Lon,

    I have an A4 Q 3.0 on an 02 plate.

    I know what you mean but the tab may be bent over at right angles if neccessary. Even then they would not fit my wifes Lupo.

    That said, I have not used one yet as I was trying to gather opinion on the concept itself first.

    To me it seems a good idea as you are tapping into a supply without the need to cut wires or access the rear of the fuse box. Also both the original equipment and accessory are individually fused. If one fused the other would continue to work.

    My surprise is that you do not seem to be able to get them in the UK.

    I ordered a few of each size and they seem pretty good quality to me.

    But then what do I know!!!

    I am a bit of an old fart these days and have done 27k miles on the original tyres and have at least 8k left in them, and I change at no less than 3mm.

  13. #12
    MattS3's Avatar
    3rd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    North Norfolk
    Posts
    503

    Re: Opinions requested please

    Looks like a good idea to me. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ok.gif[/img]

    I just slipped the wire behind a fuse in the box when I hard wired my Snooper.

    I might get one to just finish the job of properly, but will insulate it too.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO