EM TuningVolks Autos
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    35

    Avic F30BT testing, do I need extra +12v from fuse box?

    I have a non Bose 8L S3 and have just bought a second hand Pioneer Avic-F30BT. After reading various posts about what I need to get it going, I think I have everything required. I was just going to test it tonight and fit it properly at the weekend so hooked up a PC9-404 harness (blue connected to bulleted remote on from Pioneer) and a CT27AA05 for the antenna (blue connected to remote on from Pioneer) and switched the yellow and red on Pioneer harness. I was expecting it to come on with that, possibly requiring a manual turn on. I tried swapping the red and yellow back to normal but still nothing.

    Head unit and car fuse are both ok. Do I need to piggy back an ignition on from the fuse box even to test it? I thought that was just to tell it to turn on and off with the ignition, so by inverting the red and yellow leads I would at least power the unit on?

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Wirral
    Posts
    191
    You need to run an ignition live from the fusebox to switch on the headunit.

  4. #3
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Wirral
    Posts
    191
    Both your red and yellow need a feed to turn head unit on.one is constant 12v the other is switched live. So swapping them over and connecting just one wont power up the unit.

  5. #4
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    35
    Thanks for the info, so is the best method to run a single wire to s-Kont, split it at HU end into double bullet, and connect in to the Pioneer harness directly with it's existing bulleted red and yellow?

  6. #5
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Wirral
    Posts
    191
    You will find the constant live in the head unit wiring loom.just pick up an ignition live from fusebox and your good to go.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. help needed, no sound from rear speakers
    By wellhouse0 in forum In-Car Entertainment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22nd April 2008, 20:28
  2. Advice needed - Been suspended from work
    By Mart in forum General Chat
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 2nd December 2007, 13:43
  3. help needed with fuse box location
    By jazzyc in forum A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20th June 2007, 20:58
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st December 2005, 17:39
  5. Extra BHP from A6 2.4 Tip
    By Livvy in forum Tuning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th November 2005, 22:08

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO