HELP! 2011 A3 Chorus upgrade

tottenhouse

Reaction score
Hi folks

This is my first post and as I am totally new to this I hope I am doing it right. I also tried to message someone but don't think I managed to do even that!

I discovered this forum when researching my problem - which is:

My Chorus ii+ system has fronts and a centre speaker, but I would like sound for the rear passengers as well as a more 'full' sound in the car. Although I realise it is probably the simplest option, I am not keen to change the look of the head unit to an aftermarket one. I am not that fussed about a sub, but would probably change the fronts to the same brand as the (hopefully) new rears as I think that would improve things enough. i am not after an ear shattering sound - just a decent sound that fills the rear as well, and a fade control.

My inital investigation led me to believe that the Concert ii+ system was for rear spkrs as well, so I bought one on ebay. I was dismayed when I connected it to see that there is no FADE option available on it either. What does that mean? Is my autospark right when he says the option may only appear when speakers are actually properly connected (and would that be only with the correct rear audi amp??)?

I know that an amp is required for the rear speakers and I have looked at the Concert pinouts to see if I could connect any 2 channel amp which I can get fairly cheap. Or if I knew what audi amp, I could also probably get a s/h one on ebay. But I am not certain of the correct part numbers here.

So (as the above is not clear even to me!) basically, I want to know how to get the Concert II+ (or Chorus II+?) wired to an amp and get a FADE option!

Any help on this will be REALLY appreciated as I am at my wits end trying to get this sorted!

cheers
david

No Audi head unit has rear speaker outputs, they all use a small amp for the rears.