Audi A3 8P Stereo help

funkyr

Reaction score
Hi all,

I've been out of car audio for a while (6-7 years) and am looking to replace the stock system on my wife's 2005 8P 5Dr A3 with something not too over the top. I used to have a top of the range Eclipse HU, Eclipse amps, Focal speakers, Nakamichi sub & sound deadening in my old car - dont want to go anywhere near there for this car!

Must have for the HU:
1) single DIN
2) mp3 playability
3) ipod control from the head unit
4) front USB.

Dont want:
1) Sub
2) To amp the front or rear speakers (hmmm tempting though)

Hard to nominate the total budget as I'm new to the UK. Maybe around £2-300? Let me know if this budget is way too low!

Would appreciate any advice on:

Head unit change - do you need a fascia and any special wiring? (I have a single DIN Audi concert)
Front and Rear speakers - sizes of stock system and any recommendations for middle range speakers.

Thanks!

Last edited:
I've just bought and fitted (with help from AndyMac and Slappy) a JVC KD-R821BT. features:

Single Din
MP3/WMA Playability
iPod/iPhone mode, via front USB (also charges)
Additional USB at rear, Front Aux.

Also has the added benefit it of Bluetooth Calls and Audio streaming via A2DP, if your iPod/iPhone is Bluetooth compatible

Although not OEM looking, the unit isn't as ghastly as some Sony HU, and you can customize the colour of button lights and the display in order to match the interior of the car, so doesn't look out of place.

It has internal amp, so you don't need a separate one.

You will need, depending on what's already in your car:
-fascia adaptor
-amplified aerial adaptor (pc5-90)
-a cable to connect to rear speakers (pc9-404) or you can just plug directly into them from HU (will be doing this in the future when I get time).

Total cost for all this -£140.

Even though the Audi concert is single din, it's slightly wider than normal. Have not a clue about replacing speakers though!