Monster MotorsportChris Nott
Results 1 to 28 of 28
  1. #1
    S.line's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    251

    Complaint or not

    Just bought my 58plate paid £16k from audi 2 days ago but have a few issues.

    Lots of stone/neglect chips - some were noticed on test drive and was told the body shop would go over the car, but they are still there and now I'm looking more are turning up!

    Washer stalk on headlight not retracting - was told this would be sorted and had been looked at. Gets stuck everytime I use washers so.....

    Head lamp different shades !?!?!?

    Am I being picky or what?!? What would you do and anyone had this before? This is my second approved Audi but the first was much better prepped for collection. Never noticed on collection of the new one coz it was wet and windy but my 03 car I traded in was in better nick body wise than this one, apart from a poxy shopping trolley dent!!

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    254
    You are clearly not happy, and they havent done what they said they would. Most definatly voice your opinion, after all everything you mention is a relativly easy fix (stone chips not included).

  4. #3
    Audi Dynamik's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2,121
    Go back and complain i don't care if it is or it isnt under warranty it is there responsibility for selling a faulty car with you and they said the stone chips would be taken to the body shop and it hasn't been sorted out. take it back. do not let them make you pay, it is there responsibility to sell you a faulty car !

  5. #4
    S.line's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    251
    I've booked in for next Wednesday. Minor chips I'm not too fussed about but the deep ones I am. The steering is a tad on the heavy side too, heavier than my b6 and my transit but not even arsed about that as it gives you more feel... Will post their outcome but heck no, I'm not gonna give in!!

    Thanks for opinions guys.

  6. #5
    marktdisport's Avatar
    5th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    mids
    Posts
    1,193
    sounds like a proper pooooo service if you ask me...... i would take it straight back and say sort it or you want a refund !!! simple
    A4 TDI 130 SPORT..
    now sold but still in the family, gone back in time to the cupra R again..

  7. #6
    S.line's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    251
    I feel more like a human rather that a twisty auld bloke who has nowt else to do lol!

  8. #7
    Audi Dynamik's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2,121
    is there quite alot of stone chips are they on the bonnet ? they will not be perfect unless they re spray the whole bonnet which i dont think they would want to splash out to do. you might as well tell them about the heavy steering it could just be a small power steering fault or maybe you need some power steering fluid or something ? what mileage is your car ? my a4 b8 is light as a feather on steering it is a 2.0 tfsi quattro

  9. #8
    S.line's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    251
    It's a november 58 plate with 38k on.

  10. #9
    S.line's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    251
    Oops sent before finnished! No not any on the bonnet but more thru out the car, tail gate puller, doors from hitting off walls when open and one bout the size of my little finger nail on one of the alloys! I don't want it brand new and I know it's a 3yo car. The head light lenses are a diff colour, when I had to push the sticky stalk in I noticed masking tape on the same lense....a refit one perhaps ? All I want is the car to be right, that's why I went to Audi and not a back street garage.

  11. #10
    Audi Dynamik's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2,121
    yeh its still a good car that, mention to them about the power steering aswell make sure that all problems are solved. what do you mean by the headlights different shade ? which audi garage did you buy it from ? i will be on to them !

  12. #11
    S.line's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    251
    The light from the lense is diff shades. One is crisp white the other is white if you catch me drift. I thought it was the xenon bulbs at first but even the LEDs are diff shades. You can even see the diff shades on the reflection on the garage door!! I reckon the body shop are either blind or ignorant!! It was Newcastle Audi. Not overwhelmed I must admit!!!

  13. #12
    Audi Dynamik's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2,121
    right ok, Thanks, get all your problems sorted, i will be on to Newcastle Audi after the work done on your car

  14. #13
    Audi Dynamik's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2,121
    It could be a different output of power towards the bulbs of the headlights which could be something to do with the battery, or it might be a faulty bulb with a bit of ware and tear but doubtfully not.

  15. #14
    S.line's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    251
    Hope they sort the lot tbh.

  16. #15
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    co,antrim
    Posts
    123
    sorry you have had this hassle with your car , you say its a three year old car but audi make a big noise about their "Approved used" cars i would have expected the alloys to be refurbed , and any thing needing done attended to . A member of our family bought an 08 sline , he had been told everything would be sorted out ready for collection.When he picked it up he wasnt impressed how the body work was presented ,the car had been valeted but that was all ,numerous stone chips on the bonnet .It also had a judder in the drive line , so much for the extensive checks carried out on the car ! Anyway he took it back to the dealership who fitted a new clutch and d/mass fly wheel , and also painted the bonnet for him .The car now looks and drives as it should . So lean on them and take no nonsense . Make sure everytning is left right. It would seem audi are going the way mercedes quality went a few years ago. best wishes
    Last edited by ivor1; 21st December 2011 at 21:39.

  17. #16
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    348
    Its probably had just one HID bulb replaced, needs a pair to keep them matched.

    Take it back and complain. Be firm but polite. You paid top dollar for an Audi from a franchised dealer and should expect a premium used car..... but at the end of the day a car salesman is a car salesman.....

  18. #17
    S.line's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    251
    Thanks Ivor.

    If one hid bulb was replaced then why would the day running lights be diff colour? Takin it back they say next we'd but might do it tmro before they say well those chips could have been done by you.....

  19. #18
    SamDude's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,091
    The heavy steering may be by design. If there is no servotronic spec'd on the car it will feel like you're driving a bus at low speed.

    You'd never think to ask about power steering nowadays, you just assume it's there.
    On the plus side, if you don't have any muscles in your arms, you'll soon have some...
    A4 2.0TDI S Line (2008)
    MMI/Sat Nav, Parking System Advanced, Advanced Key


  20. #19
    Audi Dynamik's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2,121
    haha ! its worth an ask though

  21. #20
    JtotheD's Avatar
    Events Moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Bournemouth, Dorset/ Wallingord, Oxon
    Posts
    907
    Quote Originally Posted by Zafi View Post
    Its probably had just one HID bulb replaced, needs a pair to keep them matched.

    Take it back and complain. Be firm but polite. You paid top dollar for an Audi from a franchised dealer and should expect a premium used car..... but at the end of the day a car salesman is a car salesman.....
    loving the negative stereotype on car salesmen. Cos we're all the same yeah? Anyway in response to s.line, as you've said stone chips are always going to be present on a used car as wear and tear really, but if there is a fault with the washer stalk take it back and ask them to fix it, and mention to them that they said the stone chips would be sorted, even if they go round and touch a few in it's better than what it was, plus everyone knows the only way to fully get rid of deep chips is a respray, so perhaps what they should have said is they will 'improve' the chips, this way they don't give you false information about what they are or are not going to do! If you can, speak to the general manager and voice your concerns direct to him/her, as they are the ones who have the authority to make the big decisions. Good luck though fella!
    S3 8L Ming Blue 273bhp & 294lbft h


    Build/project thread
    check it out!


  22. #21
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    348
    I am used to empty promises from car salesmen in franchised dealerships I guess.....

    If the headlamps are different colours then they only swapped one after the bump. My car had lots of missing screws on the front - headlamp screw, slam panel screws, underguard. Sadly I did not spot this for a few weeks, presumably it has had some panels replaced and the were short of screws as they slammed it together. It was 6 months old when I bought if from an Audi dealer as an approved used car. All used cars have some paintwork to prep them, how else would they be chip free on the front bumper and bonnet, but sloppy panel assembly is not acceptable.

    It also had no dust caps on the wheels.... the apprentice maybe lost those as he carried out one of the multipoint checks.

    My own stupid fault for picking it up in the dark I guess......

    I like the car, so overal a happy chappie
    Last edited by Zafi; 22nd December 2011 at 23:57.

  23. #22
    S.line's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    251
    Aye. Took the car back today n it's booked in for jan 6th. Another thing av noticed is some white paint on the temp dial, which I told them about when I looked at the car first time!!!!!!!!! Also the bonnet lines up spot on with one wing but not the other???!!!??? They said the issue with the lights was the hl bulb, but I said its also on the day time running lights? He said 'it's my eyes deceiving me and it's normal for the a4 to have diff coloured head lights' erm hello, are you Audi I am talking to or Kia???!!!!!!!

  24. #23
    JtotheD's Avatar
    Events Moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Bournemouth, Dorset/ Wallingord, Oxon
    Posts
    907
    unfortunately it's fools like this that give car salesmen a bad name! It doesn't sound as if you've an easy time of it!
    S3 8L Ming Blue 273bhp & 294lbft h


    Build/project thread
    check it out!


  25. #24
    S.line's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    251
    Took it back in today n spoke with the sales manager. He was a tad miffed at the state the car went out, even spotted other things!! He said it looks like its gonna get a new light unit as it was diff colours!! Booked in for the 6th jan to be put how it should have been, anyone think of a nice gift to ask for for inconvenience ha!

  26. #25
    dmaudi's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    209
    that's good news,

    I think the full PDI treatment is the min,

    so full tank, freshly valeted, spare litre of oil in boot, make you feel like you'd want to buy from them again, after that I'm not sure what to suggest
    2012 Q3 S line S-Tronic 177 TDI
    2013 MINI GP

    Previously B8 S4, 8P A3 3.2Q

  27. #26
    redspudder's Avatar
    Sparky

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Middlesbrough
    Posts
    365
    Sounds like your having a nightmare.I bought my A4 from Teesside Audi 2years ago which is the same group as Sunderland and Tyneside Audi i cant really complain about the salesman but the aftersales service leaves a lot to be dessired i feel quite strongly about the hassle ive had with them and i have to say im not the only one i know at least 5 other people who have had issues with them,i will NEVER by another car from them again,i have not let it dampen my enjoyment of my car as i love it but once out of warranty i will be going back to a local indy specialist that i have used in the past.
    And also push them to sort your problems then hassle them for some type of compensation i got offer of £150 towards taking my family out for a meal all i had to do was take a receipt in and they would reimburse me.They also inflicted swirl marks when they washed the car when i took it in for one fault after been instructed several times not to wash i even wrote it onthe job card,i then got them to pay for a full professional detail to remove the swirls.I also rang Audi customer services to make them aware of the problems i also got £200 in vouchers to spend at Audi garage as a form of compensation.
    I must say last time i took the car in about 6weeks ago for service they now have a new system for booking your car in and wrap a red tag round your keys if you request not to wash i guess this isnt down to me but at least they are trying something new to improve,i only go back to them as i got 2 years free servicing and theres no other Audi garage in the area.
    Last edited by redspudder; 23rd December 2011 at 18:11.
    2.0Tdi 170 Black Edtion Avant

  28. #27
    TOON FLYER's Avatar
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    23
    I'm at Tyneside next week, let's see what goes wrong this time. As a consequence of my last visit I have £50 off next service! They have changed hands and are now owned by the Benfield group. Hope you get a good out come but don't give up.

  29. #28
    S.line's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    251
    To follow on with my recent purchase I bought the car with the super assurance that Newcastle Audi looked after its every service. When I bought it it had a service 1k miles ago. It lags a tad I think so I took a look at the air filter to find it was filthy!?!?!!!!! Sums you guys up at Newcastle Audi. I'm not effin amused one bit!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Pizza complaint to Asda
    By Road Razor in forum Jokes, Games & Humour
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 14th October 2009, 17:48
  2. Police Complaint
    By karl7900 in forum Jokes, Games & Humour
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11th August 2008, 11:27
  3. Another paint complaint
    By OutLore in forum A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th September 2005, 16:35

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO