Tight gearbox - Should I be worried ?

Osnim

Reaction score
All, need some advice, Im not a mechanical expert and dont want to be ripped off when I visit my local garage so....

2003 (53) S4 B7 (4.2) 50k miles just had recent service but...

This week the gearbox has been really tight and struggling to find gears, especially 2nd. It first happened after a hard run when it wouldnt engage at all into 2nd.
Is tight on start up, then loosens slightly but something still not right.
When I give it some stick it tightens also.

Ive had a look in manual, but cant see any advice or servicing instructions... Can anyone give advice ?? Many Thanks... Pls tell me the box isnt goosed !!!

P.s when car is turned off goes through gears no problem.

all advice appreciated...
Jason

dont have a clue mate! but my car is booked into audi cos my gear changing isnt smooth! it would when cold clonk into 2nd an 3rd and sometimes lightly crunch into 4th even with the clutch fully engaged! im under warrenty so no worries about gettin ripped of! that happens when they service it lol

im sure a machinic would give u an idea of possible probs..

Does the gearbox sound normal? If it's a selection problem it sounds more like a gear linkage or clutch problem.

It feels as if its catching something when going into gear, its a bit strange that tight on start up, then loosens off a bit, i wasnt sure if a known fault as Im surprised at 50k miles.. ..

I take it these things dont need gear oil or that ?? (probably a daft question!!)

thanks for advice..

I take it these things dont need gear oil or that ?? (probably a daft question!!)

thanks for advice..

Errr yes a gearbox will need oil and if it is low then that 'may' cause selection problems. I would get it in somewhere pretty sharpish for some basic checks if I was you.

Sounds like very low gearbox oil level to me - which may have caused some selector or synchromesh damage.