Exhaust tone?

Av4nt

Reaction score
Just wondering whether this has something to do with the cold or not...

Started my car tonight, cold start, and the exhaust had a louder than normal tone which made me think it was blowing somwhere...after 30 seconds it went. tried again a few hours later after car had cooled again and same thing happened. Also when revving can vaguely hear a similar note which hasnt been there before tonight.

im new to petrols and obv they arequieter than diesel but is this something that affects 2.0T engine/ezhaust when in colder weather or should i get it looked at underneath for any holes? or perhaps test by blocking the pipes with rags to see if it still runs etc...

it isnt mega loud ill add, just different enough to make one think oh, exhaust blowing there...then fades out. seems odd

Like this?

Not sure your car has a secondary air pump, but these do this in cold weather which can make it sound much louder, my S3 8L had 1 & it used to pee me of, but then again mine was ******** twice.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hmm i would say possibly yes BUT it doesnt come from anywhere near the engine. seems to come more from the back left tailpipe and then dies off and usual burbly tone from both pipes as it settles in. but initialy loud on back left. id have thought though that if it was blowing due to a hole..it would stay at the same tone.. 0_o when i start it tomorrow ill see if i can get an audio clip

reading around tho, and not necessarily audi, it appears turbo petrol engines experience this noise from the exhaust pipes for 15-20 seconds due to the air pump you said above. so i guess maybe it is normal

Last edited:
Hmm i would say possibly yes BUT it doesnt come from anywhere near the engine. seems to come more from the back left tailpipe and then dies off and usual burbly tone from both pipes as it settles in. but initialy loud on back left. id have thought though that if it was blowing due to a hole..