Volks AutosChris Nott
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By scotty76

Thread: Exhaust tone?

4th Gear

Status

Exhaust tone?

Just wondering whether this has something to do with the cold or not...

Started my car tonight, cold start, and the exhaust had a louder than normal tone which made me think it was blowing somwhere...after 30 seconds it went. tried again a few hours later after car had cooled again and same thing happened. Also when revving can vaguely hear a similar note which hasnt been there before tonight.

im new to petrols and obv they arequieter than diesel but is this something that affects 2.0T engine/ezhaust when in colder weather or should i get it looked at underneath for any holes? or perhaps test by blocking the pipes with rags to see if it still runs etc...

it isnt mega loud ill add, just different enough to make one think oh, exhaust blowing there...then fades out. seems odd
    Current - 2006 B7 A4 S Line Saloon 2.0T TFSI Special Edition, Unicorn stage 1 remap, Metallic Dolphin Grey, 18" TTRS Rotors, Ferrari Red front/rear Calipers, 3.5" Powerflow tailpipes, BOSE, Cupra R splitter, Chrome grille slats, S4 Mirror covers, Black/silver leather interior, Debadged, Arm rest delete, LED plate lights, Dectane LED Red/Crystal tail lights, HID 6k, RS 4 pedals, Rev D D/V, APR snub mount, NGK 7s

Gone - 2005 B7 A4 Avant 2.0 TDI

2. # ADS
    ADS

NHN
    Modmetractor

Status
    Like this?

Not sure your car has a secondary air pump, but these do this in cold weather which can make it sound much louder, my S3 8L had 1 & it used to pee me of, but then again mine was buggered twice.

OEM RETROFITS - CRUISE CONTROL - SAT NAV - BLUETOOTH - AMI - HEADLIGHT SYSTEMS

PARKING SYSTEMS - DIAGNOSTICS - FAULT FINDING - BODYWORK - PAINTWORK

4th Gear

Status