New owner: A4 Avant S Line - tips n tricks?

popes996

Reaction score
Hi there!

Just bought a 2006 A4 Avant and would like to know if there are any things I can do to it to enhance the drive, add functionality etc. I am a Porsche tech by trade and can have access to a mate's diagnostic tester and intend to add cruise control to the car ASAP but is there anything codable or programmable on the car?
I'd like to add ipod connectivity - looking around the forum it would seem a Dension gw 300 is the way to go; correct?

Car has RNSE, Bose, Nav Plus inc. BT phone anything else worth going for?

I'm hopefully about to buy an A4 avant so will keep my beady eye on this thread :)

Sorry to jump in on this - but the ipod compatibility is something i've been considering for my car also. I'm just wondering how these work - in terms of sound output. Does the device need to be in 'ipod' mode so to speak to output sound? Or do the speakers just output all the normal sounds your ipod / phone would normally make?

Basically, where i'm going with this is........ what would happen if I plugged in my iPad, or I guess also my iPhone, and for example loaded up a youtube video? Would this still work through the speakers??

With regard to the Denison unit - it looks a bit pricy to me? Someone posted a link to a similar product in another thread further down the page (see this thread - http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/audi-s4-a4-a4-cab-b7-chassis/182715-standard-stereo-aux.html - the link in it isnt for the ipod device, but they do offer one if you look about their site) which, even when adding in bluetooth was a fair bit cheaper than then Denison one.

Whether there are glaring differences in quality mind you, I cant comment on....

I had an ampire Freeview + tuner on my old rnse, which also gave me two av lines in. Once I had sussed the SD cards though, that was easier than bothering with a phone or anything else. See the ICE threads for that, pm me if you can't find the RNSe tips and tricks.