A4. Tdi engine disaster

Hardworkingdad

Reaction score
I am new to this so hopefully posting correctly.

My Audi a4 avant 2.0 tdi 6 speed 05 reg lovely car, but what an expensive problem
firstly being a BLB engine we had to replace chain driven oil pump for gear drive about 3 years ago.

Now it died on A3 in fast lane, no warning, running perfectly, then stopped like key was turned off.
Turns out the cam belt has come slack, the tensioner has come off ! Or nearly off. The bolt that holds it pulled out of the cylinder head, threads gone. It's been in there 3 years ok, so why now?
the above has resulted in pistons hitting valves and breaking rollers, showering inside of engine with tiny rollers.
dont know if valves are damaged, don't know if we will ever find all rollers, and too risky to take chance we have got all them.
Big problem, not sure what to do.
Anyone had this before? Have read about one similar where bolt came loose, but this has damaged threads and pulled out.
Very expensive problem again, on car with about 80k miles. Not amused.

Last edited:
Text is a bit small mate lol.

Sorry to hear your news. Get a mechanic to check it. But looks like they will need to strip your engine first as other components may be damaged.

Hope you get resolved seems strange this has suddenly happened.

Hi thanks for reply, it is in independant garage I use, and I have an engineering service manager back ground. Still find it odd and annoying this has happened on what was supposed to be a quality car, but the more I find out about it, the less I think of it.

I think he was takeing the **** about the txt mate!

I wasnt actually, was meant in good spirits, it was tiny, now its huge lol.

Anyway sorry to hear of your misfortune again mate, thats a hard pill to swallow.

Hi Hardworkingdad...